Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
This can be used as a starting template when creating new collections and by no mean limits what can be added additionally to provide more descriptive detail. Additional fields may be added to the collection by the collection administrator.
| Field | Dublin Core Map | Search | Obligation | Standards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Title | Title | Yes | Mandatory | None |
| Creator | Creator | Yes | Required | LC Authorities |
| Description | Description | Yes | Mandatory | None |
| Subject | Subject | Yes | Mandatory | LC Authorities, Cleveland Memory list |
| Date Original | Date | Yes | Required | ISO 8601 |
| Time Period |
Coverage-Temporal |
Yes | Required | None (inspired by Cleveland: A Concise History) |
| Location Depicted |
Coverage-Spatial |
Yes | Required | LC Authorities |
| Object Type | Type | Yes | Required | Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus |
| Language | Language | Yes | Required | ISO 639-2 |
List of default descriptive metadata fields used in all collections. All of these fields are displayed, i.e., they are visible to the user.
A Note about Obligation:
Mandatory - The field must be filled out in every record.
Required - The field must be filled out if the information is available.
Optional - The cataloger has the option to not to complete this field.
Collections in Cleveland Memory share a core of set of fields that help the Digital Productions Unit, Special Collections, and Technical Services to make decisions in the future regarding the digital resources. Additional fields may be added to these if the collection warrants it.
Core Administrative Metadata Fields
| Field Name | Dublin Core Map | Search | Obligation | Hidden | Standards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Identifier | Identifier | Yes | Mandatory | Displayed | Prefix established before scanning. |
| Repository | None | No | Required | Displayed | LC Authorities |
| Repository Collection | Relation-IsPartOf | Yes | Required | Displayed | Use DACS for guidelines on forming collection names. |
| Repository Homepage | None | No | Required | Displayed | Homepage for the repository, if available. |
| Digital Publisher | Publisher | No | Mandatory | Displayed | LC Authorities |
| Copyright | Rights | No | Mandatory | Displayed | None |
| Format | Format | No | Mandatory | Displayed | Information about the archival digital master file. |
| Digital Processing Notes | Format | No | Mandatory | Hidden | Information about the archival digital master file. |
| Reproduction Note | None | No | Mandatory | Hidden |
None |
| Archival Folder Name | None | Yes | Mandatory | Hidden | None |
| Source | Source | Yes | Required | Hidden | None |
| Donor | None | Yes | Required | Displayed | LC Authorities |
| Processed By | None | Yes | Mandatory | Hidden | None |
| Processing Date | Date-Available | Yes | Mandatory | Hidden | ISO-8601 |
| Internal Notes (Hidden) | None | Yes | Optional | Hidden | None |
| Full-Text | None | Yes | Leave blank | Hidden | None |
| OCLC Number | None | No | Leave blank | Hidden | None |
List of administrative metadata fields used by all Cleveland Memory collections.
A Note about Obligation:
Mandatory - The field must be filled out in every record.
Required - The field must be filled out if the information is available.
Optional - The cataloger has the option to not to complete this field.