Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

MSL buzz: the Michael Schwartz Library blog

OhioLINK Adds New Digital Resources with the Ohio Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) Funds

by Donna Stewart on 2021-01-26T12:03:00-05:00 | Comments

 

OhioLINK, Ohio’s academic library consortium, has received $2.5 million from the Ohio Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds through the Ohio Department of Higher Education. These funds are being used to purchase digital resources for Ohio colleges, such as streaming video and e-books, to supplement online research, as well as provide instructional support for a wide range of curriculum, including physical and applied science courses that traditionally have not been taught online.

The following GEER-funded resources are now available to assist faculty in teaching remote and hybrid courses to undergraduate and graduate-level students across a wide range of disciplines, with emphasis on the most pressing need to support teaching labs in the STEM sciences and courses for the allied health fields. 

For assistance with any of these new resources, please ask any of our subject specialist librarians.
 

NEW RESOURCES AVAILABLE NOW:
 

JoVE Core and JoVE Lab Manuals
Access Dates:  January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2022 (2 years of availability)

JoVE Core includes video textbooks for introductory biology, chemistry, and social psychology courses that can serve as effective primary or supplementary teaching resources. Key concepts are brought to life through high-impact animations and scientist-in-action videos of experiments conducted in laboratory settings. Includes:

  • JoVE Core Biology
  • Jove Core Chemistry
  • Jove Core Social Psychology

JoVE Lab Manuals are curriculum-focused video resources that support teaching and learning of commonly taught biology and chemistry introductory labs. Three separate videos with step-by-step instructions for each lab experiment illustrate lab preparations for instructors, key theoretical concepts, and a protocol for students. Includes:

  • JoVE Lab Manual Biology
  • JoVE Lab Manual Chemistry

Cochrane Library
Access Dates:  January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2021 (1 year of availability)

Wiley's Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. It can be searched for a particular topic or disease and will return results on clinical trials, reviews, methods, studies, and clinical answers.

MIT Press Direct eBooks
Permanent access to all MIT books to all e-books published from 1943 through 2021
beginning January 2021

Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

Sage Business Cases
Perpetual access to all Sage Business Cases published through 2020
beginning January 1, 2021

SAGE Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to thousands of authoritative cases from over 100 countries. Featuring both SAGE Original Cases and cases from twenty global content partners, the collection spans a wide range business and management disciplines from leadership and entrepreneurship, to family business and women in leadership.

 

COMING IN MARCH:

Films on Demand: new content

Anticipated start of March 1, 2021 (through May 22, 2022)

 

New content in the subjects of:

  • World Cinema 
  • Allied Health
  • Nursing
  • Feature Films for Education 
  • Physical Therapy

 

 


GEER is part of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which authorized federal economic aid in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The CARES Act includes several funding streams, such as GEER, to support the education community’s response to the public health emergency.  We thank the Ohio Department of Higher Education for their advocacy and assistance in procuring the funds to make these resources available.

See the full announcement on the OhioLINK website:

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...