Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

MUS 601: Approaches to Music Research

This guide provides targeted resources for acquiring bibliographic information for music.

Library PIN

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles you need that are not in the Michael Schwartz Library, OhioLINK or available online.

Tracking Scholarly Influences Activity

Option 1) Svansdottir, H.B., and J. Snaedal. "Music Therapy in Moderate and Severe Dementia of Alzheimer's Type: A Case-Control Study." International Psychogeriatrics 18.4 (2006): 613-621. AgeLine. Web. 6 Sept. 2016.

Option 2) Green, Lucy. "Popular Music Education in and For Itself, and for 'Other' Music: Current Research in the Classroom." International Journal of Music Education 24.2 (2006): 101-118. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Web. 6 Sept. 2016.

Option 3) McPherson, Gary E., and John McCormick. "Self-Efficacy and Music Performance." Psychology of Music 34.3 (2006): 322-336. ERIC. Web. 6 Sept. 2016.

Option 4) Collins, David. "A Synthesis Process Model of Creative Thinking in Music Composition." Psychology of Music 33.2 (2005): 193-216. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Web. 6 Sept. 2016.

Core Music Research Databases

Additional Music Research Databases

More Research Databases

Research Databases available via the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. If you do not find what you need in the Research Databases listed above, then please try others.

Does CSU Have This Journal?

View the links to specific journals for which CSU patrons have access, including paper and electronic journals.

CSU A to Z Journal List