Created by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

Access to rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Art and architecture images arranged by time period to parallel art history textbook organization.

Source of fine art images from over 8,000 collections and 29,000 artists from museums, galleries and artists throughout the world. Offers basic, advanced and inspirational searches along with reproduction rights requirements.

High-resolution images of selected works from 16 museums around the world, including Gemaldegalerie, Berlin; National Gallery, London; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Versailles; Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam; Uffizi, Florence; Museum Kampa, Prague; and more.

Phase 1 of Open F|S, the complete digitized collections of the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection. With more than 40,000 works being made available for high-resolution download—expanding regularly with our new acquisitions—you can explore the Smithsonian's museums of Asian art from anywhere in the world, whenever you like. Images can be used for all non-commercial purposes, from desktop wallpapers to artistic gifts for family and friends.

A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries started in 1996. Content focuses on the Renaissance period, the Medieval roots of the period and its evolution to Baroque and Rococo via Mannerism. More recently Neoclassicism, Romanticism and Realism were also included.