Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

A General Guide: Art and Architecture

Research Databases

Start your search for articles in these Core Art Research Databases:

Research Databases available via the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. If you do not find what you need in the Research Databases listed above, then please try others.

Find Journal Articles

To find peer-reviewed journal articles on a topic, search in one of the Research Databases listed below. Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many of the Research Databases also contain the full text of articles, either in HTML or PDF format.

Find It! iconAdobe PDF icon

   *Look for these icons.

Find a citation for an interesting article in one of the Research Databases? See if the library provides access by searching Journals at CSU.

Scholarly articles provide the most accurate and reliable research available. If you are unsure if an article is scholarly, ask yourself these questions:

Who wrote the article, and why did they write it? What are the author’s credentials?

Who edits the journal? In a scholarly journal, you will often find the members of the editorial board and their credentials listed near the cover page of the journal.

Who would read this article? Is the article something anyone could easily understand, or would someone with a deep interest in the subject best understand the article? Scholarly articles are written for scholars, not the general reader.

Why was this article written? Scholarly articles are written to advance research in a field. They often present original research and ideas.

Does the author tell you where they got their information? Do they cite their sources? All scholarly articles will have a bibliography.

Still unsure? journals on shelf image

  • Is it longer than a page or two?
  • Is it structured into sections (abstract, introduction, conclusion, bibliography)?
  • Do the pictures/graphs support the text, or are they just there for show?