The MSL virtual reference desk: CLEVELAND-AREA RESOURCES
(For information on Cleveland's neighborhoods, see Neighborhood Links)
General Resources
- City of Cleveland: Official site provides information about the government, economic development, education, and attractions.
- Cleveland+ / Team NEO : Northeast Ohio's regional marketing campaign. Has 3 major divisions:
- Work Here: This includes sections on career advancement, major industries, and listings of professional and workforce development organizations.
- Live Here: Includes cultural, educational and regional resources.
- Learn Here: Includes links to arts and culture (Cleveland Museum of Art, Karamu House, etc.), entertainment, family fun, and sports and recreation.
- Cleveland.com: A regional news, event and communication portal for Greater Cleveland. It includes news from the Cleveland Plain Dealer and Sun Newspapers. Also has special features such as Essential Cleveland, which allows you to see Plain Dealer recommendations on restaurants and things to do in Cleveland.
- Cleveland Quick Facts (Census.gov): Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- This is Cleveland: Cuyahoga County's convention and visitors bureau.
Cleveland State University Resources
Directories
Libraries and Local Library Resources
- Cleveland Public Library: 28 branch libraries.
- Newspaper Articles: Some may require a CPL card and pin number or are accessible on site only. Access databases with local news in full text i.e., Plain Dealer, Newsbank - Ohio Newspapers and the Call and Post.
- Cuyahoga Public Library: 27 branches serving 47 communities.
- Research Resources: Some may require a CCPL card and pin number or are accessible on site only. CCPL has subscriptions to full text resources for the Plain Dealer, Cleveland Jewish News and the historical Cleveland Call & Post. Limit the resources by clicking on the tabs.
- OPLIN Find a Library - Cuyahoga County
News and Media
For full text access to Cleveland newspapers see Libraries and Library Reources above.
Other Local Resources
- Center for Community Solutions' Cleveland Neighborhoods and Wards "The fact sheets include basic demographic information about each ward and neighborhood, as well as data on employment and income, poverty, education, housing, and health."
- City Council (City Council directory and ward maps)
- City of Cleveland Home Page
- City Planning Commission
- Cleveland City Planning Commission - Neighborhood Fact Sheets: The City Planning Commission combines Census Tracts into Statistical Planning Areas (SPA). Each SPA is equivalent to a traditional neighborhood. A neighborhood Fact Sheet compiles some basic demographic information for a certain neighborhood. PDF format.
- Cleveland Cartography: Information about historical and contemporary maps and map-related happenings in and about Cleveland and the Western Reserve region of northeastern Ohio.
- Cleveland Metroparks: A system of 19 nature preserves encircling Cleveland and spanning over 21,000 acres. It is unofficially known as the "Emerald Necklace".
- Cuyahoga County, Ohio: The official government website of Cuyahoga County.
- Greater Cleveland Partnership (formerly Greater Cleveland Growth Association): A membership association of Northeast Ohio companies and organizations and one of the largest metropolitan chambers of commerce in the nation.
- Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
- Guide to Cleveland Artist Communities: Provides descriptions of communities throughout Cuyahoga County where artists are making their homes and help for those who wish to find space in those communities.
- LiveCleveland Neighborhoods: A civic marketing agency dedicated to promoting the livability of Cleveland's neighborhoods.
- Northeast Ohio Coordinating Agency (NOACA): A transportation and environmental planning agency serving Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain and Medina counties.
Statistics
Weather
