The MSL virtual reference desk: CALCULATORS & CONVERTERS
NOTE: Physical scientific calculators are available to be checked out from IS&T's Mobile Campus in the Student Center.
Basic Calculators
- Cleveland News Index: Includes the former Cleveland Necrology File which contained "death notices published in the following newspapers: The Cleveland Plain Dealer - 1850-1975, The Cleveland Herald - 1833, 1847-1848, 1876, 1878-1879, The Cleveland Press - 1941-1975" and the News Index which provides death date and a reference to where obituary appeared for the Cleveland Press, 1976-1983, and the Plain Dealer, 1976-2014 courtesy of Cleveland Public Library. You can search both indexes or select a subset.
- Death Notices & Guest Books: Recent Plain Dealer full-text obituaries.
Collections of Online Calculator & Converter Pages or Resources
- Calculation and Conversion Tools: Internet Public Library list. (May not display in Internet Explorer.)
- Calculator.com: Online calculators for a variety of conversions and calculations, including standard, scientific, and temperature. Also has a directory of calculators by subject.
- The Calculator Site: Includes financial calculators, metric converters and more. Please note that the site is U.K. based and many links are to U.K. specific information.
- Currency Tools (OANDA): Includes multiple currency converters as well as historical rates back to 1990.
- Currency Tools (XE.com): Tools include a currency converter and current and historical currency rate tables.
- Dollar Times Financial Calculators: Includes some standard calculators such as mortgage and retirement but also some more unusual personal calculators, i.e., a coffee cost calculator.
- OnlineConversion.com: Convert just about anything to anything else. Thousands of units, and millions of conversions.
