Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ENG 698: Pre-Thesis Colloquium

A guide for students preparing to write a thesis in literature.

Important Notice

The Michael Schwartz Library is now open. Physical items from our collection, OhioLINK, and Interlibrary Loan are available once again. But you can still make use of our robust online options for ebooks, articles, and videos. For more information, visit our page on Remote/Off Campus Access to Library Resources.

Welcome!

Stack of books

Welcome to the research guide for ENG 698 students!

Use this guide to help you get started in writing your thesis and to discover the helpful resources the library has to offer you. Please feel free to contact me with questions or concerns as you explore this guide. My contact information and a link to set up an appointment with me are to the right.

The English Language and Literature Collection at CSU

The Library's collection supports the instructional and research needs of the faculty and students in the Department of English as well as non-majors enrolled in English courses. 

The collection emphasizes the study of British and American literature and multicultural literature. Another strong curricular emphasis is poetry.  The Library acquires works of established literary merit and critical commentary on these works. Through OhioLINK researchers have access to an increasing number of relevant materials in both print and electronic format.

Book shelves

The Hazel Collister Hutchinson Contemporary Poetry Collection includes poetry books and periodicals published in English since the Second World War. The collection was founded on gifts from the Cleveland poet Hazel Collister Hutchinson and the CSU Poetry Center.

Find recent additions to the collection here.

Writing a Thesis - Massey University

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Open Educational Resources are free educational materials that are open for anyone to use. Some of these materials are available under Creative Commons licenses that allow users to re-mix, customize, and re-distribute material for use in the classroom.