The OhioLINK Central Catalog allows you to find and borrow books, video and audio recordings from 88 Ohio colleges and universities.
To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.
SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES Library PIN required for off-campus access.
American and English Literature
Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Broad subject coverage, including fiction (adult, young adult, children's), biographies and memoirs, literature and criticism.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
American and English Literature Collection; Scholarly and Reference Collection.
Broad subject coverage; access to selected English language imprints, 2005-2007.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Public domain and open access documents with a focus on American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.
Bluestocking refers to a woman with strong scholarly or literary interest; originated from the Blue Stocking Society, a nickname for a predominantly female literary club of 18th-century London.
Eserver Books Collection
Fiction, poetry, and nonfiction.
The Great Books and Classics of Western Civilization
Seminal works of literature that have influenced Western culture.
Open source e-books from the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digitized collections of partner institutions.
Broad range of older books and collections.
View additional ebook collections.
Scholar focuses your search on items owned by the Cleveland State Libraries. Use Scholar to find books, videos, audio recordings, journals, magazines, and more. Your search will include materials in both hard-copy print and virtual electronic formats.
Scholar Advanced Search provides additional limiters for refining your result list.
Use Scholar online catalog to search the CSU Library collection for books, videos, audio, and more.
There are two ways to get into the Scholar catalog. The first is to use the tab above the search box on the library's homepage.
The second way is to click on the link in the right-hand column below the image on the library's homepage.
It's important to note that the default search in Scholar is by Title. If you don't have a specific title in mind, you might want to change your search parameters to Keyword.
Then, when you're ready, go ahead and type your search terms in the search box and click Search or Go.
The way you type your search terms into the search box can have a significant effect on the relevancy and focus of your search results.
In this example, I used the word AND between two words or phrases. This is called a Boolean operator. Other Boolean operators include OR and NOT. To use these words, put them between two or more words or phrases from your search terms, and make sure they are capitalized as they are here.
I also put a phrase in quotation marks. This tells the search engine to search for this string of words together, in this order, instead of for each word on its own somewhere in the record.
You can also limit your search by using the button above the search bar that says Limit/Sort Search.
From here I can easily limit to a certain material type (book, music score, film/video, etc.), language, time range of publication, or publisher.
After you complete a search in Scholar, clicking on the title of the material you're interested in will bring you to the item's record. The record will tell you more about the material, such as the name of the author, the publisher, and the publication date. To get even more information, click on the Full Record tab.
Now you can see even more information, including the subject headings that have been assigned to this resource. Subject headings, which are words or phrases that describe the material, can be very helpful in telling you more about what this resource is about as well as guiding you to other relevant materials.
Clicking on a subject heading will bring you a list of other library materials that have also been assigned this subject heading. This is an easy way to find your way to other relevant sources.
The three pieces of information you need to get a book or other material that you've found in Scholar off the shelf and checked out are:
1) Location - where in the library the book can be found, such as 2nd Floor Book Stacks
2) Call Number - where on the shelf to find the book, such as BF1078 .F748 1999
3) Status - whether or not the book is checked out, available, damaged, missing, or only available for use within the library
If you need help finding library material using the Library of Congress call number, see this helpful guide to reading call numbers.
Theses and Dissertations from Cleveland State University
Theses and Dissertations from other Ohio Universities
Theses and Dissertations from North America and Europe