Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

LIN 340 / ANT 340: Phonetics and Phonology

A guide for students in Dr. Grebenyova's Linguistics 340 class conducting research.

Library PIN

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary and the definitive record of the English language.

Dictionary of Writers and Their Works (Oxford Reference)
An essential guide to authors and their works that focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology
The principal authority on the origin and development of English words.

From the CSU Collection

The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar by Bas Aarts; Sylvia Chalker; Edmund Weiner
Call Number: Ebook - Click Link to Access
ISBN: 9780199658237
Publication Date: 2014
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by David Crystal
Call Number: PE1072 .C68 2003x - 4th Floor Stacks
ISBN: 0521530334
Publication Date: 2003
The Handbook of English Linguistics by Bas Aarts (Editor); April McMahon (Editor)
Call Number: PE1106 .A27 2006 - 4th Floor Stacks
ISBN: 1405113820
Publication Date: 2006
The A-Z of Correct English by A. M. Burt
Call Number: E-book - Click link to access
ISBN: 1857037855
Publication Date: 2004

Other Reference Materials

Some resources require Library PIN for off-campus access.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Bibliography of American Literature
Selective bibliography limited to the material which constitutes the structure of American literature of the past one hundred fifty years.
Directory of Contemporary Poets & Writers
Names, addresses, and publication credits for 9,315 contemporary authors
Literary Movements for Students
A guide to understanding, studying, and enjoying literary movements.
This Year's Works in English Studies
Qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literature written in English.