Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

A Guide to Education: K-12 Resources

This Research Guide contains resources supporting students, faculty, and staff in the Departments of Curriculum & Foundations and Teacher Education.

Library's Teaching Resources

Curriculum Area

View this PowerPoint presentation for an overview of the Curriculum and Juvenile Literature Collections available in the Michael Schwartz Library's Digital Design Studio.

Featured Books

Multicultural Children's Literature
Call Number: PN1009.5.M84 G67 2011
ISBN: 9781412955225
Publication Date: 2010-04-22
Okay for Now by Gary D. Schmidt
Call Number: PZ7.S3527 Ok 2011
ISBN: 9780547152608
Publication Date: 2011-04-05

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Children's and Young Adult Books
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Reviews and teaching ideas.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
Cleveland Public Library
Outstanding children's literature collection.
Cooperative Children's Book Center
Reach Out and Read
Program that promotes the value of reading aloud to children.
Youth Media Awards
American Library Association (ALA) Awards.

Standards & Benchmarks K-12

Common Core State Standards Initiative
Content Knowledge
Compilation of Content Standards for K-12 Curriculum.
Elementary and Secondary Education Act
From the U.S. Department of Education
No Child Left Behind
Ohio's Learning Standards
Learning Standards By Grade Level and By Content Area
The Nation's Report Card
National Assessment of Educational Progress.

K-12 Lesson Plans/Classroom Activities

Why reinvent the wheel? Check out these resources for lesson plans and classroom activities.

Awesome Library
Center for Media Literacy
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Discovery Education - Lesson Plan Library
Education World
Edutopia
Health Literacy Special Collection
For teaching health to people with limited literacy skills
Illuminations
Resources for Teaching Math
INFOhio
Ohio's preK-12 digital library with resources for Students and for Educators.
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Everything
KidsHealth
Doctor-approved health information about children from birth through adolescence
LD Online
Learning disabilities and ADHD
The Learning Network (The New York Times)
News summaries with related lesson plans
Lesson Planet
NASA Education
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
National Council for Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
National Geographic Education
National Science Teaching Association (NSTA)
PBS Learning Media
PE Central
Developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth
ReadWriteThink
Smithsonian Education
TeacherServe
TEDEd (Lessons Worth Sharing)

K-12 Research Databases

Below are links to EBSCO Research Databases provided by the Michael Schwartz Library that most K-12 students also have access to through INFOhio:

MAS Ultra School Edition (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Middle Search Plus (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
Vocational and Career Collection (1985-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for trade and industry related periodicals.