Library Information
The Michael Schwartz Library
- Library Homepage
- Contact Us
- Library Hours
- Directions
- Ask Your Personal Librarian
- Off-Campus Access
- Mobile Access
Library Pin
Please create a Library PIN if you don't have one already! You need a Library PIN to access your Library account and to search the research databases from off-campus.
Your Guides to Middle Eastern Resources
Welcome to the Middle Eastern Studies Research Guide.
Middle Eastern Studies is an interdisciplinary subject that covers many areas of study, depending on your class or your research topic. The guides linked below may help you focus on a subject that includes information about the Middle Eastern aspect of that topic. This guide is a starting point for research in any Middle Eastern Studies course at Cleveland State University. Click the TABS above to navigate to the appropriate section of the guide.
The following related guides may also be useful to your research. Until new Research Guides are published, the links will lead to "subject portals".
- Art & Architecture
- Business
- History
- Language & Literature
- Political Science and International Relations
- Religious Studies
I will be updating the guide regularly and welcome your suggestions and feedback. You may leave comments on most areas of the guide.
Barbara Strauss
Research Tips to Help You Start
Select a topic that interests you:
Start
by choosing a topic that interests you and that you can cover in the
time and space required for your project.
Do preliminary searches:
Do
a few searches in the Library Catalog or article databases before
commiting to a topic. You may find that you need to narrow or broaden
your topic based on what you discover.
Read background information:
Take
a few minutes to read about your topic in a specialized encyclopedia,
dictionary or handbook. These sources will provide you with background
information, as well as lists of other sources to get you started on
your research.
Make a list of words that describe your topic:
Write
your topic out as a short sentence or question and look at the
different components that make up your statement. From these
components, start compiling a list of words, as well as synonyms that
describe your topic. Use these words to search for your topic in the Library Catalog and in Article Databases.
Focus on scholarly sources:
Use primarily scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. Such sources are typically not freely available on the Web and cannot be found by searching Internet search engines like Google or Yahoo.
Keep a log of your search process:
Keep track of what sources and search terms "work" and which ones do not.
Cite as you go:
Even
if you're not sure whether you will use a source, it's much easier to
note the citation information up front than to decide you need it
later! Consider using citation software, such as RefWorks to keep track of the citations in your paper.
Subject Guide |
|
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
