For personalized research help, schedule time to meet with me.

I'm looking forward to talking with you about your topic!

Start your search for articles in these Core Nursing Research Databases.
The first 2 databases (CINAHL and MEDLINE) can be searched simultaneously, by clicking on the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the CINAHL database).

More Databases:

Full text access and other research tips:

• Use the "Core Nursing" limiter in CINAHL to zero in on peer-reviewed articles in the Nursing literature. Near the top of the the left margin on your result list page, click "show more" under the date slider bar. Under "Journal Subset," select "Core Nursing."
  • If full text is not available, follow the link to "Request via Interlibrary Loan." Complete the form and submit. The article will be emailed to you, usually within 24-48 hours. 
  • Last minute rush? Check the "EBSCO Full Text" limiter at the top of the left margin on your result list page to eliminate results that are not immediately available in full text.
• Too many search words can eliminate useful results! Try using just one or two words relevant to your topic. It's okay if the result list is large - results are ranked by relevance. Once you apply your limiters, the best articles will rise to the top.
• Using Google Scholar? These step-by-step instructions show you how to locate full text (either free online, or free to you through CSU).

Off campus?

Many electronic resources (research databases, e-books, etc.) are limited to CSU students, faculty, and staff when accessed off campus. You may be prompted to authenticate by entering your CampusNet ID and password. 

Questions? Here are some tips for resolving common connection problems.

Productive and effective searching:

• Start with one or two keywords 
  • Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND exercise)
  • If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (cardiac or heart)
• Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
• Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
• Apply limiters thoughtfully
  • After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
  • Other limiters to try:
    • Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
    • Journal Subset: Core Nursing (in CINAHL, this limits results to scholarly nursing journals only)
    • Other database-specific limit options (any author is a nurse, randomized controlled trial, etc.)

Can't access the article or book you need? Use our Inter-library loan (ILL) service!

What does it mean to review the literature? 

"The literature" refers to all of the scholarly writings about a certain topic or with in a particular discipline:

• peer-reviewed articles and published research studies
• scholarly monographs (books)
• conference proceedings
• dissertations and theses

This video from University of North Carolina at Wilmington provides a good overview of the literature review process:

A primary research article reports on a study conducted by the authors. This type of article:

• Asks a research question or states a hypothesis
• Identifies a research population
• Describes a specific research method
• Tests or measures something
• Includes a section called "method" or "methodology." 
• Includes a section called "results."

Words to look for as clues include: analysis, study, investigation, examination, experiment, numbers of people or objects analyzed, control group, or survey.

To contrast, the following are NOT primary research articles (they are secondary sources):

• Literature reviews*
• Meta-Analyses/Review articles* (arrive at conclusions based on research from many other studies)
• Editorials
• Letters
• Chapters in books
• Encyclopedia articles
• Speeches and interviews

* Literature reviews and meta-analyses also describe the authors' research method/methodology, focusing on their database search strategy and development of criteria for including or excluding individual study results. These articles are still secondary sources because they synthesize the findings of multiple research studies; the authors are not the primary researchers.

Before using Generative AI tools for research or other coursework, consider the following: 

• Is the AI tool silencing your voice or impeding your learning? Avoid using AI for tasks or writings that have been assigned to assess your knowledge or understanding.
• Does your professor allow AI for this assignment? Check your syllabus and make sure you understand your instructor's guidance regarding AI use. 
• Is the information correct? Verify AI output content for accuracy. Many tools generate hallucinations, or false information that seems plausible. 

Writing Center Services

Located in the Library Learning Commons

• Make an appointment
• Help writing papers
• Help with citing