Search Cleveland State University Libraries and beyond:
WorldCat connects you to billions of records of books and any other type of materials cataloged by over 10,000 OCLC member libraries worldwide. Includes OCLC’s WorldCat catalog and database indexes like OCLC's ArticleFirst and PapersFirst, as well as external database indexes including ERIC, the ACM Digital Library, JSTOR, ScienceDirect, and OpenAccess and US government information sources.
Many eBooks are available in the Scholar catalog search, but you might also want to try these eBook resources.
Full text of over 100 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Use Scholar online catalog to search the CSU Library collection for books, videos, audio, and more.
There are two ways to get into the Scholar catalog. The first is to use the tab above the search box on the library's homepage.
The second way is to click on the link in the right-hand column below the image on the library's homepage.
It's important to note that the default search in Scholar is by Title. If you don't have a specific title in mind, you might want to change your search parameters to Keyword.
Then, when you're ready, go ahead and type your search terms in the search box and click Search or Go.
The way you type your search terms into the search box can have a significant effect on the relevancy and focus of your search results.
In this example, I used the word AND between two words or phrases. This is called a Boolean operator. Other Boolean operators include OR and NOT. To use these words, put them between two or more words or phrases from your search terms, and make sure they are capitalized as they are here.
I also put a phrase in quotation marks. This tells the search engine to search for this string of words together, in this order, instead of for each word on its own somewhere in the record.
You can also limit your search by using the button above the search bar that says Limit/Sort Search.
From here I can easily limit to a certain material type (book, music score, film/video, etc.), language, time range of publication, or publisher.
After you complete a search in Scholar, clicking on the title of the material you're interested in will bring you to the item's record. The record will tell you more about the material, such as the name of the author, the publisher, and the publication date. To get even more information, click on the Full Record tab.
Now you can see even more information, including the subject headings that have been assigned to this resource. Subject headings, which are words or phrases that describe the material, can be very helpful in telling you more about what this resource is about as well as guiding you to other relevant materials.
Clicking on a subject heading will bring you a list of other library materials that have also been assigned this subject heading. This is an easy way to find your way to other relevant sources.
The three pieces of information you need to get a book or other material that you've found in Scholar off the shelf and checked out are:
1) Location - where in the library the book can be found, such as 2nd Floor Book Stacks