Skip to Main Content

Link to CSU Home

Link to CSU Home

Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

Students in the Connection Lounge

Michael Schwartz Library

Communication: a general guide: Public & Professional Speaking

General Speech Resources

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
Full-text and audio database and directory of American speeches, sermons, lectures, and interviews
IDEA: International Debate Education Association
Includes Debatabase, the online debate topic database

From the CSU Collection

The Art of Speeches and Presentations by Philip Collins
Call Number: ebook - click link to access

ISBN: 0470711841

Publication Date: 2012
Conquering Communication Anxiety by Electronic resource: Video
Call Number: available online - click link to access

Publication Date: 2010

Resources for Writing Informational Speeches

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals in key areas of academic study.
Nexis Uni
Search national and international news sources
Oxford Reference Online
Search through multiple encyclopedias and dictionaries at once
Newspaper Source
Full text for current regional and international newspapers.

Ebooks
Try the OhioLINK EBC and Gale Virtual Reference Library for electronic access to various reference works.

OneSearch

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find articles, books, "research starters", and other resources to inform your speeches.

Five Basic Public Speaking Tips: Toastmasters

Resources for Writing Persuasive Speeches

Issues & Controversies
Browse "Issues: Pro and Con"

Opposing Viewpoints (series of books)
Books in the library exploring controversial issues

Points of View Reference Source (2007-)
Covers hundreds of topics on current issues, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Public Agenda
Public Agenda is a nonprofit organization which presents in-depth analyses of current issues facing the public. Like any resource, information it presents should be evaluated.

Sources for Statistics

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2025 11:21 AM
URL: https://researchguides.csuohio.edu/communication
Print Page

Subjects: Communication

Tags: journalism, marketing, media, news, public speaking