Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

EndNote Online: Exporting/Importing Citations

How to use EndNote Online to create in-text citations, bibliographies, and more.

Exporting from EBSCOhost, General Databases, and OneSearch

EBSCOhost databases (i.e. Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Computer Source, etc.): Click on "Export" in right column, choose "Direct Export in RIS Format." Then save as an .ris file.  Import into EndNote Basic by choosing RefMan RIS as the "Import Option."

EJC: "Export citations" save as .ris file and then import from EndNote Basic using RefMan RIS as the "Import Option."

Google Scholar: Click on " under result you want to cite, choose "EndNote" at bottom of popup and save as .enw file. 

Exporting from Science and Engineering Databases

ACM Digital Library: Under "Export Formats" choose "EndNote" and save citation as an .enw file.  In Endnote, choose "ACM Digital Library" as import option. 

ACS Publications:  Download citation or record, save as .ris file and then import from EndNote Basic using RefMan RIS as the "Import Option."

ASCE Library Click on Tools, then "Download Citation",  choose EndNote and save as an .enw file.  Import into EndNote using the EndNote import option..

ASME Digital Library:  Click "Cite" in the record. Then under Download citation file, choose "EndNote" and save the citation as an .enw file. In EndNote, choose "EndNote Import" as the import option.

IEEE XploreClick on or check off the title(s) of the article or conference paper and then choose the dropdown next to "Export" at the top of the page.  Choose the citations tab and then the RIS radio button.  Click on "Export" and then save as an .ris file.  Import into EndNote Basic by choosing RefMan RIS as the "Import Option."

PubMed: Can be searched from within EndNote Online! -- click on "Collect" -> "Online Search" -> choose PubMed (NLM) from dropdown menu -> "Connect".  Search for articles, check off ones to import, then choose "add to group" and choose group from dropdown menu to import.

or if not searching from within EndNote Basic:

Click on the "Send to" dropdown menu and choose "Citation Manager" and then click on "Create File" button. Save file as a .nbib file. Import file from EndNote Basic by locating the saved file and using PubMed (NLM) as the "Import Option."

SciFinder:  Click on "Export" button in upper right of page. Under Citation Manager, choose "Citation Export format (*.ris)" radio button, click "Export", and save as an .ris file. Import into EndNote using RefMan RIS as the import option.

Web of Science databases: "Save to EndNote Online"  - citations are directly imported into EndNote. Core Collection can also be searched directly from within EndNote!

Exporting Book Citations

Scholar Catalog or OhioLINK Catalog: Save citation(s). Go to "view saved." Click "export saved list." Choose "EndNote/RefWorks" for Format of List and "Local Disk" under Send List To.

This saves the citations as a .txt file.  In EndNote, use "EndNote Import" as the Import Option.

Exporting from Nursing Databases

CINAHL, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Medline with Full Text: Click on "Export" in right column, choose "Direct Export in RIS Format." Then save as an .ris file.  Import into EndNote Basic by choosing RefMan RIS as the "Import Option."

PubMed: Can be searched from within EndNote Basic! -- click on "Collect" -> "Online Search" -> choose PubMed (NLM) from dropdown menu -> "Connect".  Search for articles, check off ones to import, then choose "add to group" and choose group from dropdown menu to import.

or if not searching from with EndNote Basic:

Click on the "Send to" dropdown menu and choose "Citation Manager" and then click on "Create File" button. Save file as an .nbib file. Import file from EndNote Basic by locating the saved file and using PubMed (NLM) as the "Import Option."