Research Guides: HIS 358: The Holocaust: Origins, History, and Memory: Home

Michael Schwartz Library

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for HIS 358: The Holocaust. The resources collected here will help you complete class assignments and projects, especially research assignments.

Please call me or email me if you need research assistance or if you would like to schedule an appointment (my contact info is to the right). I am happy to meet with students individually to help you get started with your research or to answer any questions.

Essential Sources

History Unfolded
US Newspapers and the Holocaust

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Contains over 400 full-text titles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collections
Access to records across the Museum’s collections, including publications, photographs, objects, documents, moving images, music, and oral histories.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
A number of large primary source collections about the history of the Jewish people.

Cleveland Newspaper Collections

CSU Newspaper Databases
Cleveland Press Collection
CSU Special Collections
Plain Dealer (archives)
Cleveland Public Library (need library card for access)
Ohio Digitized Newspapers
CPL Newspaper Collections
Includes Call & Post, Cleveland News Index, Plain Dealer, and others - All CSU students can get a CPL card at the MSL's User Services Desk
Cleveland Jewish News
Through Ethnic NewsWatch - library PIN required for off-campus access

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Containing more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.