Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
The Art of Pickleball by
Winner of the Arizona Book Award. This book describes everything from equipment to tournament strategy in straightforward, conversational language that will benefit novice and seasoned players alike. The Art of Pickleball shows how to perform basic and advanced strokes anad provides excellent tips for doubles play, mental conditioning, gamesmanship, and offensive and defensive strategies. Drills are included to help readers develop recommended shots. * Master the fundamentals with step-by-step illustrations and photos* Choose the right paddle and other accessories* Polish your skills, from overhead smashes to dinks* Learn the fine points of safety* Techniques designed to take you to the next level* Quick answers to your questions* Easy to read and understand
Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12 by
With Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12, Second Edition, you can - use mechanically correct progressions to teach students more effectively and increase their enjoyment of physical activity; - build a complete, balanced physical education program that has something for everybody; - save preparation time with lesson plans for 484 classes covering 18 areas of fitness, creative movement and dance, and sports; - take advantage of ready-to-use assessment tools for each developmental level; - find health fitness standards and sport-related fitness norms for multiple ages and grade levels and both sexes; and - facilitate lessons with reproducible study sheets, extension projects, and portfolio checklists. This popular book provides loads of teacher-tested lesson plans and assessment tools that will decrease your preparation time and increase your students' competency. After listening to requests of the first edition's users, the author has packed two more popular field sports and a unique chapter on educational gymnastics into this new edition of Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12. Lessons can cover beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels and break down each skill as it is introduced. The chapters also integrate the applicable rules and strategies during the learning process and use methods that will keep students active, learning, successful, and completely motivated. In addition to the clear instruction for teaching skills, rules, and strategies, each lesson generates opportunities for students to develop physical, cognitive, and social skills. Each unit is designed to help students gain competency appropriate for their experience level. Formerly published as Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 7 to 12, the book features exciting new material: - Detailed introductions of skills and how to practice the mechanics of each skill or dance - Three new chapters (field hockey, lacrosse, and educational gymnastics, the latter of which includes three units that can be used in teaching both gymnastics and creative dance) Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12provides field-tested lesson plans for 484 classes covering 18 areas of fitness, creative movement and dance, and sports. These professionally prepared plans will not only cut your own prep time but also help you focus on the essentials in each step of your students' learning process. It is a great resource when you need material for a substitute teacher or when you are asked to submit plans to your school administrator. In addition to the lesson plans, the book and CD-ROM package contains a wealth of teaching and assessment tools, including skills rubrics, portfolio checklists, unit fact sheets, and quizzes. The accompanying CD-ROM enables you to print study sheets, student extension projects, portfolio checklists, unit quizzes, and answer keys. You can also print out any page of the text from the CD-ROM (e.g., lessons, full units, tests). Complete Physical Education Plans for Grades 5 to 12 is an ideal resource for physical education teachers and for district directors who want to give their teachers a resource through which they can provide a consistent curriculum across the school system.
An Insider's Guide to Water Polo by
Water polo was the first team sport to be added to the program of the Olympic Games, in 1900. This accessible volume chronicles the history of the fast-paced aquatic sport, its rules and regulations, playing techniques, and required skills, such as catching, wet and dry passing, and shooting. Both offensive and defensive plays are examined, as well as how points are scored. This handy narrative also explains player positions, the coach's responsibilities, and officials' tasks, and includes informative sidebars such as a comparison of American and English water polo and types of fouls.
Lesson Plans: Dynamic Physical Education for Secondary School Students by
Key Message:This complete guide provides instructors with a variety of lesson planning tools including objectives for each unit, benefits, necessary equipment listings, instructional activities, and quizzes and tests. Key Topics:Badminton, Frisbee golf, Golf, Orienteering, Racquetball, Rhythmic Gymnastics, Rhythms and Dance, Rock Climbing, Table Tennis Tennis, Track and Field, Weight Training, Basketball, Flag Football, Soccer, Softball, Team Handball, Volleyball, Juggling, Kickboxing, Pilates, Archery, Bowling, Walking, Jogging, Swimming/Aquatics Market:Intended for those interested in learning the basics of lesson planning.
Netball by
Master the key skills for on-court success. Netball: Steps to Successcovers every aspect of the game, from individual playing skills to the fundamentals of team play. Netball: Steps to Successgives players a solid grounding in the game. By teaching correct footwork and the fundamental skills of catching, passing and shooting, it provides a solid platform from which to progress to competitive game play. These skills are practiced and honed through a series of drills that feature a scoring system designed to accelerate your progress. Once you master the basic skills, Netball: Steps to Successtakes you on the court and prepares you for any situation. Detailed instruction, complemented by full-colour photographs and illustrations, will teach you the defensive and attacking strategies needed for winning play, whatever your playing level. Off-the-court preparation, including conditioning routines and warm-ups, will ensure you're at your best on game day. Whether you want to sharpen your existing skills or raise your playing level, Netball: Steps to Success, part of the best-selling Steps to Success Sports Series (over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide), has the answer. You can be confident that the best instruction in the sport is at your fingertips.
Physical Education Activity Handbook by
The Physical Education Activity Handbook, Eleventh Edition provides existing and future physical education teachers with the content knowledge and teaching techniques they need to offer their students a chance to learn a wide range of engaging activities. More than 40 activities are explained, with essential information such as equipment, rules, skills and techniques, teaching and learning strategies, and a comprehensive reference section for further expertise. Activity chapters instruct the reader in three key areas: what the activity is, how to do it, and how to teach it to others. Using this text, teachers and teachers-in-training alike will be fully prepared to offer their students a varied learning experience that is engaging, exciting, and meaningful.
Physical Education Activity Handbook by
The Physical Education Activity Handbook, Eleventh Edition provides existing and future physical education teachers with the content knowledge and teaching techniques they need to offer their students a chance to learn a wide range of engaging activities. More than 40 activities are explained, with essential information such as equipment, rules, skills and techniques, teaching and learning strategies, and a comprehensive reference section for further expertise. Activity chapters instruct the reader in three key areas: what the activity is, how to do it, and how to teach it to others. Using this text, teachers and teachers-in-training alike will be fully prepared to offer their students a varied learning experience that is engaging, exciting, and meaningful.
Pickleball Fundamentals by
Fast, fun, and competitive: Simply step onto the court and it will be clear why pickleball is booming in popularity. Pickleball Fundamentals is the first book written and endorsed by the USA Pickleball Association. It will teach you the basics of the sport so that you can join the fun on the court right away. Learn proper execution of the sport's essential skills and tactics. All the shots--groundstroke, serve and return, volley, dink, lob, overhead smash, and drop--provide a base for solid technique. More than 40 drills and gamelike activities will speed your learning while improving performance. You'll also find competitive tactics for various scenarios and strategies for both singles and doubles play. So whether you are new to the sport or one of the growing number of pickleball fanatics, Pickleball Fundamentals is the best way to master the basics and compete with confidence.
Principles of Safety in Physical Education and Sport by
The fourth edition of Principles of Safety in Physical Education and Sport contains practical advice on the safety factors to consider when teaching sport and physical activity programs, including cycling, volleyball, and lacrosse. Checklists and outlines help facilitate lesson planning, as do pre-class safety checks.
Rugby Games and Drills by
Improve technique, game sense and fitness levels with the aid of Rugby Games & Drills. Developed by one of the game's top coaches and endorsed by the Rugby Football Union, Rugby Games & Drills contains over 115 games and drills \qq: Perhaps we want to say "activities"? Also, total may change. -Laura Xqq\ designed to bring out the very best in players, regardless of age or ability or rugby code. This book is packed with the most effective games and drills for improving core skills such as handling, kicking and decision making while providing tough physical challenges. In addition, the detailed descriptions with accompanying illustrations will help you make the most of training sessions and ensure you are ready for game day. Rugby Games & Drills is the ideal companion for coaches and players of both rugby league and rugby union looking to maximize talent and harness their potential.
Rugby: Steps to Success by
Master the skills, master the game. Rugby: Steps to Successcovers all of the skills, tactics and strategies you need to improve your play and dominate the pitch. With 13 progressive instructional steps, you'll learn all aspects of the game. Detailed descriptions, illustrations and photo sequences demonstrate the essential skills, including footwork, ball handing, tackling and kicking. Then practice and improve with 90 drills, each featuring a personal scoring system to gauge and accelerate your progress. After mastering the individual skills, you'll learn to apply them in match play. From retaining possession to attacking the opposition's weaknesses, you'll learn the strategies to dominate the pitch. Become a complete player and lead your team to victory. As part of the popular Steps to Success Sports Series—with more than 1.5 million copies sold worldwide—Rugby: Steps to Successwill elevate your performance to new heights in all facets of the game.
The Sports Rules Book by
From alpine skiing to wrestling, and all sports in between, The Sports Rules Bookis an all-inclusive resource covering 54 sports. Quickly glean information on each sport's origin and history, basic procedures, terminology, equipment, competitive playing areas, scoring systems, player positions and primary features, common rule violations and their consequences, and, where applicable, officials' signals. The Sports Rules Bookis your guide to understanding all the athletic activities we compete in and enjoy.
Teaching Cues for Basic Sport Skills for Elementary and Middle School Students by
This book provides prospective and in-service physical education teachers with important tools for teaching young people various sport activities using valuable cues that promote student success and enjoyment. Teaching Cues for Elementary and Middle School Fundamental Sport Skills provides in-service and prospective elementary and middle school teachers with a popular technique for helping students develop skills for all types of sports and activities popular among young people today. Teaching cues are used to simplify and enhance students' learning, and ultimately turn them on to physical activity. Whether verbal or visual in nature, teaching cues have been found to produce significant performance gains of skill development in young people. This book will serve as a valuable resource to students, instructors, and professionals who wish to create a positive learning environment that helps students walk away with a feeling of success. Teaching Cues helps teachers save valuable planning time and establish credibility with their students quickly. For physical education teachers at the elementary and middle school level.
Teaching Cues for Sport Skills by
A unique, user-friendly, and exciting book designed to provide physical education teachers and coaches with both visual and verbal teaching cues for a wide variety of sports.
Teaching Cues for Sport Skills for Secondary School Students by
ALERT: Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that younselect the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition,nbsp;you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products. nbsp; NOTE: This is the standalone book. nbsp; Packages Access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included when purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson; check with the seller before completing your purchase. nbsp; Used or rental books If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code. nbsp; Access codes Access codes that are purchased from sellers other than Pearson carry a higher risk of being either the wrong ISBN or a previously redeemed code. Check with the seller prior to purchase. For junior- to senior-level courses in Physical Education Methods for Secondary schools or Psychology of Coaching. Teaching cues-short, catchy phrases that call learners' attention to key components of a skill-are provided for nearly 30 sports and activities in this practical, applied book. Teaching Cues for Sport Skills for Secondary School Students, Sixth Edition is a well-received, hands-on reference for coaches and teachers who aim to teach sport skills effectively and accurately. The emphasis on concise teaching cues helps you remember how to perform specific sport skills and helps you access information quickly from one reliable source. It is designed to supplement or bundle with a primary course text.
Teaching Cues for Sport Skills for Secondary School Students by
Teaching Cues for Sport Skills for Secondary School Students, Fifth Edition, helps you learn how to correctly and effectively demonstrate sports skills so that students will remember the skills. This unique and exciting user-friendly text provides students with memorable teaching cues-short, catchy phrases that call the learner's attention to key components of a skill-for nearly 30 sports and fitness activities. The book's "back to basics approach" makes for the most complete and comprehensive edition yet. A brand new core chapter focuses on basic skills and techniques, Rules of Play and Safety sections are included for virtually every sport, and by the popular Cues Tables are completely filled (making the Whys and Common Errors available for every skill).
Teaching Cues for Sport Skills for Secondary School Students by
Hilda Fronske helps teachers learn how to correctly and effectively demonstrate sports skills so that students will remember the skills. A wide variety of sports are covered, from volleyball to archery.
Team Handball by
Join the growing number of people who are discovering the fun and excitement of team handball! With more points scored than soccer and more continuous action than basketball, team handball has been a popular international sport for years, and now its popularity is on the rise in the United States. No wonder--this fast-paced team sport lets players take full advantage of their running, jumping, and throwing abilities. Written by two former U.S. Olympic players and expert coaches, Team Handball: Steps to Successpresents 12 easy-to-follow steps to becoming an accomplished player. Each step is an easy transition from the one before. The first steps provide a solid foundation of basic skills and concepts. As players progress, they'll learn how to combine these skills to attack the goal, decide when to pass and when to shoot, and support their teammates when attacking and defending. The final steps show how teammates can organize as a unit in attack and on defense and how good communication contributes to the effectiveness of the team. Team Handball: Steps to Successfeatures 62 drills that develop players' shooting, dribbling, passing, and catching skills. The drills come with performance goals and a list of key points to remember in executing them. Plus, many drills include instructions for increasing or decreasing the difficulty of the drill. By studying the book's 187 illustrations and following the simple instructions, players will learn - why each skill or concept is important, - the keys to proper technique, - how to analyze and correct common errors, - how to practice the skills in game-like situations, and - how to check their progress. The book's appendixes explain the basic rules of the game and show how to modify a given floor space to create a team handball court. Part of the highly popular Steps to Success Series, this book will help players learn the game quickly and provide the foundation for their future development.
OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search! For example, a basic keyword search on pickleball retrieves over 4,800 items!
Remember to use the operator AND to combine your search terms and to narrow your results. For example, a search on pickleball AND physical education in OneSearch retrieves over 370 results.
Use the limits on the left-hand side in OneSearch to narrow your results. Limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.
Scholar is the online catalog of the CSU Libraries. For every item that the Michael Schwartz Library or the Law Library owns, a summary or description is created and is added into Scholar.
Use Scholar to search for BOOKS and for other items, like DVDs and videos. Use the research databases to find articles.
You can search for items a number of ways, including by Title, Author, Keyword, or Subject.
Use the search box below for a basic keyword search, or go to the Scholar Online Catalog. You can use the Advanced Search screen for more complex searches -- combine keywords, apply limits, sort results.
The Michael Schwartz Library is a member of OhioLINK, which is a consortium of about 90 university and college libraries in Ohio.
The OhioLINK Library Catalog is the online catalog of the member libraries. As a CSU student, you can borrow books and materials from OhioLINK member libraries. Just click on the green Request button, and then enter and submit the required information. It usually takes 3-5 working days for an item to arrive via OhioLINK. You will receive an email informing you when an item has arrived, or you can login to My Account to view the status of a requested item.
You can search for items several ways, including by Keyword, Title, Author, and Subject. An Advanced Search is also available.
Search in the Ohio public library systems to find books, especially after you graduate from CSU. Some options include: