Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

HIS 299: Introduction to Historical Studies

A guide for students conducting research in HIS 299.

Core History Research Databases

Additional History Research Databases

  • European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
    Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
  • Gender Studies Database (1972-)
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • Humanities International Complete
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world and including all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.
  • JSTOR (1838-)
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
  • Biography Reference Bank
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
  • Relevant Journals by House of History