Skip to Main Content
Research Help
Services for You
About the Library
Digital Design Studio
Cleveland Memory
MYCSU
Search the Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
Research Guides
ENG 207/347/547: African American Literature
Reference Sources
Search this Guide
Search
ENG 207/347/547: African American Literature
A guide on the study of African American literature.
Home
Course Reserves Links
Information Literacy Session Recording
Reference Sources
Criticism Reading
Books
Articles
Web Resources
MLA Citation
Writing Center
Citation Managers
Discussing Race
Background Information
African American Literature Reference Sources
Full list of Oxford encyclopedias and dictionaries about African American Literature
Oxford Reference Online
This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and specialized reference books. An excellent source for background information.
Biographies
Biography Reference Bank
This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images
Literary Reference Source Plus
This link opens in a new window
Summaries, criticism, literary journals, author biographies.
Additional Resources
List of additional biographical sources,
Other Reference Materials
Bibliography of American Literature
Selective bibliography limited to the material which constitutes the structure of American literature of the past one hundred fifty years.
Directory of Contemporary Poets & Writers
Names, addresses, and publication credits for 9,315 contemporary authors
This Year's Works in English Studies
Qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literature written in English.
Featured Reference Items from the Collection
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
by
William L. Andrews; Frances Smith Foster; Trudier Harris-Lopez
Call Number: Web Accessible Resource - Click to access
Publication Date: 2001
African-American Literature
by
Paul Q. Tilden
Call Number: PS153.N5 A37 2003 - 4th Floor Stacks
Publication Date: 2003
The Handbook of African American Literature
by
Hazel Arnett Ervin
Call Number: Web Accessible Resource - Click to Access
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Writers and Their Works (Oxford Reference)
An essential guide to authors and their works that focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present.
Thesaurus
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
Provides synonyms, opposites, and related terms; includes real examples of usage.
<<
Previous:
Information Literacy Session Recording
Next:
Criticism Reading >>
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature by 
African-American Literature by 
The Handbook of African American Literature by