What are the minimum browser requirements for the EBSCO interface?

EBSCO Support offers detailed information about minimum browser requirements for Firefox, Google Chrome, and Internet Explorer.  You will also need to enable java script and cookies.

Are there any software requirements?

• You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader for desk top viewing.
• If you want to check out books, you will need Adobe Digital Editions.
• For Apple and Android devices, Bluefire Reader is recommended.
• For Kindle, PDF files can be created in the full text view and transferred using send to Kindle.

Please note: The first time you use Adobe Digital Editions, you will be asked to Authorize Your Computer. You can authorize your computer by creating an Adobe ID or you can check the box next to "I want to authorize my computer without an ID."

• Creating an Adobe ID requires an extra step but will allow you to access the ebooks you have downloaded from more than one devices.
• If you choose not to create an ID, you will only be able to view the ebook on the computer where it was downloaded.

The entry page for the EBSCO eBook database is the advanced search screen. If you are familair with any of the EBSCO periodical databases, the ebook interface will be very familair to you.

The drop down menu allows you to search using key words, title, author, subject, ISBN, publication year and publisher. "Select a Field" is the key word search option.

You can use the Search Options form to refine your search. For example, you can select a date range or limit to a specific language.

If you prefer to browse the collection, select the "eBooks" link at the top of the page. You can browse by subject or review the featured ebooks.

After your intial search, you can use the "Refine Results" options on the left hand side of the result list to narrow your results further. You can:

• Limit to full text items
• Limit to ebooks that can be downloaded
• Select a date range
• Add suggested subjects
• View items by broad subject category

To view the details for a specific ebook in your list, select the title to view the ebook record.  Go to the "eBook Detailed Record" tab for addtional information about the record.

The detailed record provides bibliographic information about the book and allows you to:

• View the table of contents
• Read the ebook
• Dowload the ebook
• Determine the number of copies available
• Add books to your folder
• Print or email the citation
• Add a note (must sign into your EBSCO account)
• Share the book information on social media

Using your search terms, a list of the most relevant pages from the book will also be listed.  You can use the URL provided to go directly to the page.

Citing eBooks in EBSCO

                      
EBSCO eBooks offers options for generating a citation in common citation styles such as MLA and APA.

You will find these options on the right under Tools.

• Print and E-mail: use the drop down menu to select the citation style
• Cite: copy and paste the citation from the list of options
• Export: export citation to Ref Works or other bibliographic management tool

Please note: The citations that are generated are NOT always 100% correct.  We recommend that you always review the citations carefully and make necessary corrections before using them.

The eBook Viewer allows users to read the ebook online. Just click the Full Text link.

On the left, you can view the table of contents and use the hyperlinks to jump to a specific chapter or section.

The tools on the right allow you to: 

• Search within the ebook
• Create a note*
• Look up a word in the dictionary
• Save and email pages (limits on the number of pages varies by title)
• Get the citation
• Save it to your folder*
• And more!

     *You will need to log into your EBSCO account to use these features.

The tool bar on the bottom offers options for customizing your reading experience. This is especially helpful when viewing on smaller screens, iPads or mobile phones.

From left to right:

• Switch to full screen mode
• Fit the page by width in the viewing area
• View the entire page in the viewing area
• Zoom out
• Zoom In
• Enter a page number to jump to a specific page

To check out and download an ebook, the "Download This eBook (Offline)" icon must be available. Not all ebooks can be checked out and downloaded.

1. Be sure you have installed Adobe Digital Edtions on your PC or device.
2. Go to EBSCO eBook Collection from the library website and log into you EBSCO account.
3. Find the book you wish to download.
4. Select "Download This eBook (Offline)." 
5. Downloading the book will check it out to you and save it in your EBSCO account folder and on your device in Adobe Digital Editions.
6. The check out period will be displayed. Most titles are checked out to you for 3 days from the time it is checked out.

Please note: The first time you use Adobe Digital Editions, you will be asked to Authorize Your Computer. You can authorize your computer by creating an Adobe ID or you can check the box next to "I want to authorize my computer without an ID."

• Creating an Adobe ID requires an extra step but will allow you to access the ebooks you have downloaded from different devices.
• If you choose not to create an ID, you will only be able to view the ebook on the computer where it was downloaded.

Can I check in a book before the end of the check out period? 

Placing a Hold

If you are logged into your EBSCO accunt and try to download a book that is already checked out, you will have the option to place a hold on the item.

You will receive an email notification when the ebook is available.