Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

UST 259: Natural History of Cleveland: Books/Catalogs

This Research Guide will help you with your research assignments in the UST 259 course.

Textbooks

Some professors teaching the UST 259 course use a textbook titled Ohio's Natural Heritage. You can find copies of this textbook as follows:

Cleveland History

Books on the History of Cleveland and Northeast Ohio are located on the 2nd floor of the Library under the Call Number F499. C657, and in the Special Collections Department on the 3rd floor of the Library.

Finding Books

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to BOOKS in the traditional paper/print format. The Library also provides access to E-BOOKS, which may be viewed full text online on your computer, laptop, or tablet.

Paper books are arranged on the shelves of the Michael Schwartz Library by Library of Congress call number. To find a book on the shelf, you need to know its location, call number, and status. See Understanding Call Numbers for more help.

Urban Studies is an interdisciplinary area crossing sociology, political science, economics, business, geography, environmental studies, education, and history with materials spread throughout the collection on various floors of the Michael Schwartz Library.

  • History books are classified beginning with the letters D, E, and F -- located on the 2nd floor
  • Geography books are classified beginning with the letter G -- located on the 2nd floor.
  • Social Sciences and Business books are classified beginning with the letter H. Books with call numbers H - HD are located on the 2nd floor; books with call numbers HE - HX are located on the 4th floor.
  • Architecture books are classified under the letters NA -- located on the 3rd floor.
  • Political Science books are classified beginning with the letter J -- located on the 4th floor.
  • Law books are classified beginning with the letter K -- located on the 4th floor.

NOTE: The Michael Schwartz Library has a small collection of law materials. The majority of law related items are located in the CSU College of Law Library.

  • Education books are classified beginning with the letter L -- located on the 4th floor.
  • Natural history books are classified under the letters QH -- located on the 4th floor.
  • Environmental technology books are classified under the letters TD -- located on the 4th floor.

To borrow books from the Michael Schwartz Library, you must present your CSU I.D. (Viking Card). Books are checked out at the User Services Center on the 1st floor of the Library. Most paper books are loaned out to graduate students for 3 months and to undergraduate students for 4 weeks, but there are exceptions. Please see the Borrowing Books & Other Materials page for information.

If you are searching for books, then use the following resources to find them:

Scholar Online Catalog (CSU Libraries only)

OhioLINK Library Catalog (CSU Libraries + Ohio college and university libraries)

eBook Collections (Some are freely available; others are available only to current CSU faculty, staff, and students because the Michael Schwartz Library pays for them.)

OneSearch (CSU Libraries & beyond)

OneSearch

OneSearch

   

 

Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search! For example, a basic keyword search on "Lake Erie" retrieves over 250,000 items!

Remember to use the operator AND to combine your search terms and to narrow your results. For example, a search on "Lake Erie" AND algae in OneSearch retrieves over 14,000 results.

Use the limits in OneSearch to narrow your results. You can limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can limit results by Publication Date. You can limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.

Scholar Online Catalog

Scholar is the online catalog of the CSU Libraries. For every item that the Michael Schwartz Library or the Law Library owns, a summary or description is created and is added into Scholar.

Use Scholar to search for BOOKS and for other items, like DVDs, videos, CDs, eBooks, government documents, and the TITLES of journals, magazines, and newspapers available in the CSU Libraries' collections.

You can search for items a number of ways, including by Title, Author, Keyword, or Subject.

For a basic search, go to the Scholar Online Catalog. You can use the Advanced Search screen for more complex searches -- combine keywords, apply limits, sort results.

OhioLINK Library Catalog

The Michael Schwartz Library is a member of OhioLINK, which is a consortium of over 90 university and college libraries in Ohio.

The OhioLINK Library Catalog is the online catalog of the member libraries. As a CSU student, you can borrow books and materials from OhioLINK member libraries.

If a book or other item you need is not available at the CSU Libraries, then search in the OhioLINK Library Catalog to check if it is available from another location.

You can search for items several ways, including by Keyword, Title, Author, and Subject. An Advanced Search is also available.

You can request items from other libraries to be sent to the Michael Schwartz Library or any other OhioLINK library member for pickup. Just click on the green Request button, and then enter and submit the required information. It usually takes 3-5 working days for an item to arrive via OhioLINK. You will receive an email informing you when an item has arrived, or you can login to My Account to view the status of a requested item.

The loan period is 3 weeks for most books. They can be renewed up to 6 times unless a hold has been placed by another OhioLINK borrower. Please see the OhioLINK Materials section of the Borrowing Books & Other Materials page for more information.

eBooks

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to eBooks (Electronic Books). The full listing of eBook collections can be found on the Virtual Reference Desk: Electronic Books page.

Some of these collections, like Google Books, are available to everyone for free on the Internet.

Other eBook collections, like the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, are available only to CSU faculty, staff, and students because the Library pays for them. Most of the eBooks that the Library has purchased are cataloged and added into the SCHOLAR Online Catalog.