Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ENG 101: College Writing I: Research Basics

The resources outlined on this guide are intended to assist you with your writing and research, and using the Michael Schwartz Library.

Get Started

Reference works provide informative overviews of unfamiliar topics.

Off-Campus Access

When you want to use the research databases or electronic book collections from an off-campus location, you will be asked to: 

  1. Select your school/institution
  2. Enter your name
  3. Enter your CSU student number
  4. Enter your Library PIN

Scholar and OhioLINK Online Catalogs

Use Scholar online catalog to search the CSU Library collection for books, videos, audio, and more.

The OhioLINK Central Catalog allows you to find and borrow books, video and audio recordings from 88 Ohio colleges and universities. 

  1. Search Scholar Online Catalog to see if the Schwartz Library has the item.
  2. If the search results indicate that the Schwartz Library does not have the item you need, or that the item is unavailable, click the green button labeled "OhioLINK" to check statewide holdings and availability.
  3. Once you locate an item you want, you may request it;  requested items will arrive at the designated pick up location in 3 to 5 business days.

Using the Research Databases to Find Articles

What is a Research Database?

Research databases are the online tools you should use to search for articles on your topic. These databases include information about articles that have been published in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Some research databases even provide access to book reviews, film reviews, dramas, financial reports, and many other sources of information.

Many of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer.

From Ohio Dominican University

Try these databases or browse databases by subject.