(This is a page originally put together as part of the Cleveland Digital Library in 1997 and updated sporadically ever since. Now it is being transferred to this Research Guide where it will be gradually edited and updated. All of the Cleveland State University resources that were listed here earlier have been removed, as they now appear in the Cleveland Memory Project)

 

1 - All Topics & Comprehensive Histories

• Cleveland Public Library. Cleveland Call & Post -- The Call & Post African American Newspaper. Look under "Publications" tab. Available for on-line keyword searching. Requires a Cleveland Public Library account
• Cleveland Public Library. Cleveland Necrology File -- On-line searchable database of information from local death notices, obituaries and cemetery records.
• Cleveland Public Library. Plain Dealer On-Line -- Search the Plain Dealer on-line, 1845-1991.  Terrific resource! <BR>Requires a local Greater Access Library account. If you don't have the right card, then you can use the PD's fee-based service.  And you can also search the PD for the period since 1991. 
• Critical Past -- An on-line collection of tens of thousands of video clips, mostly from the 1940s, including segments on NE Ohio.
• Electronic Oberlin Group. Oberlin Through History.
• The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History. - A marvelous on-line resource for the history of greater Cleveland that is continually being updated. A "Must Read."
• Federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC) Maps. - Redline (mortgage discrimination) maps for Cuyahoga and other Ohio counties.
• Library of Congress. The American Memory Home Page. The national digital library. Big and getting bigger.
• National Register of Historic Places and National Historic Landmarks Program Records: Ohio. -- Single Listings Database for Ohio (Cuyahoga Country starts at page 230)
• Ohio History Connection. Online Collection Catalog.
• Ohio Memory: An Online Scrapbook of Ohio History.
• Ohio Name Index: 1796-1850. -- Searchable database of 88,000 names appearing in Ohio publications published before 1850, including the first five city directories of Cleveland, from the Morgan Library of Ohio Imprints.
• Western Reserve Historical Society. Collections Catalog.  - Search the library and museum catalogs on-line for this, Cleveland's premier historical society. These are the records they've entered to date.
• Western Reserve Studies Symposium.   - "Advancing the exploration of the distinctive aspects of Ohio's Western Reserve".

2 - Architecture and Design

• Brunner, Arnold. Cleveland's Group Plan. 1916.
• Cigliano, Jan. "Euclid Avenue: Cleveland, Ohio." In The Grand American Avenue, 1850-1920. Jan Cigliano and Sarah Bradford Landau, eds. (San Francisco, CA: Pomegranate Artbooks). 1994. pp. 93-128.
• Cleveland Landmarks Commission. -- A listing of designated landmarks, historic architects and other useful information from City Planning.
• Frary, I.T., "The Residence of F.E. Drury, Esq., Cleveland, Ohio", Architectural Record, 38:6 (December, 1915) 601-614. [Republished in Google Books]
• Kolson, Kenneth. "Cleveland as City Beautiful." In Big Plans: The Allure and Folly of Urban Design. (Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press). 2001. pp. 49-64.
• Leedy, Walter C., Jr. "Cleveland's Struggle for Self-Identity: Aesthetics, Economics, and Politics." In Modern Architecture in America: Visions and Revisions. Richard Guy Wilson and Sidney K. Robinson, eds. (Ames, Iowa: Iowa State University Press). 1991. pp 74-105.
• Leedy, Walter D., Jr. "Henry Vaughan's Cleveland Commission: A Study of Patronage, Context, and Civic Responsibility." 1994.

 

3 - Civil Engineering (see also Real Estate: Surveying)

• The Historic American Engineering Record: Places in Ohio.
• Illustrated Pamphlet of Wrought Iron Bridges. The Wrought Iron Bridge Company. Canton, Ohio. 1884.
• King Bridge Company Home Page. - Early Cleveland bridge manufacturing company.

 

4 - Ethnicity, Immigration, Gender & Community

 

4.1 - All/Generally

• Cleveland Jewish History - A gateway to local Jewish history resources.
• Michney, Todd M. "Constrained Communities: Black Cleveland's Experience with World War II Public Housing," Journal of Social History 40.4 (2007) 933-956

4.2 - Specific Communities & Neighborhoods

• Alliance Memory - Views, sounds, and recollections from Alliance, Ohio.
• Cleveland Public Library Digital Gallery - Historical resources from CPL's holdings.
• Massillon Memory - a gateway to selected resources available in the Local History Collection at the Massillon Public Library .
• Summit Memory - Historical resources about Akron and Summit County, Ohio.
• Westlake, Ohio History Collections
• Youngstown State's "Oral History Digital Collection" -- 1100 oral histories on NE Ohio topics.

 

5 - Industry & Commerce

• Dawson, Virginia P. Engines and Innovation: Lewis Laboratory and American Propulsion Technology. (NASA History Series. 1991) -- Note "Table of Contents" link to full text.
• Harvard University's Open Collections Program. "Women Working, 1800-1930" - Search for copies of historic works pertaining to greater Cleveland. (PDF)
• "The Burning River that Sparked a Revolution." Time Magazine. June 22, 2015. -- A follow-up article to the 1969 one about about the Cuyahoga River burning that is credited with helping to launch the Clean Water Act of 1972. 

 

6 - Journalism

• Northeast Ohio TV Memories. -- "a site for photos and memories of the people who worked in front and behind the cameras in Cleveland Area television since 1947."
• The Cleveland Jewish News. -- (On-line access to the CJN Archives, 1964-present, is in beta and will eventually be available by subscription)
• Cleveland Public Library. Cleveland Call & Post -- The Call & Post African American Newspaper, complete for 1934-1991, digitized, indexed and available for on-line keyword searching.  Requires a local Greater Access Library account
• Cleveland Public Library. Plain Dealer On-Line -- Search the Plain Dealer on-line, 1845-1991.  Terrific resource! Requires a local Greater Access Library account. If you don't have the right card, then you can use the PD's fee-based service.  And you can also search the PD for the period since 1991.
• The John S. Knight Collection
• Ohio Historical Society Akron Daily Democrat, 1899-1902 -- One of the Ohio Newspaper Digitization Project products, demonstrating access to an important period in Akron History.
• Yahalom, Tali. "Pressing Charges: The Impact of the Sam Sheppard Trials on Courtroom Coverage and Criminal Law." - A University of Pennsylvania thesis about the Sheppard Trial.

 

7 - Real Estate

• Bureau of Land Management.  "Official Federal Land Records Site." -- Of the three databases offered here, "Land Patents," "Survey Plats and Field Notes," and "Land Status Records," apparently only the first has any Ohio information.
• Green, Howard Whipple. "The Real Property Inventory", Journal of the American Statistical Association, Vol. 29, No. 185, Supplement: Proceedings of the American Statistical Journal, March, 1934, pp. 105-110.
• Journal of the Cuyahoga County Archives -- two articles on their map holdings:
  • "Cartographic Records in the Cuyahoga County Archives"
  • "The Records of the Cuyahoga County Auditor"
• Zangerle, John A. Principles of Land and Building Appraisals as Scientifically Applied in Cuyahoga County 1946-47.
• Case Western Reserve University Archives.Buildings and Grounds of Case, WRU and CWRU (1882-1949) 1884.
• Cleveland Landmarks Commission. Cleveland Architects Database. -- A listing of architects and master builders who have worked in Cleveland, from the 1820's until the 1930's
• Wikipedia.Ohio National Register of Historic Places listings in Cuyahoga County, Ohio.
• Federal Home Owners' Loan Corporation (HOLC) Maps. - Redline (mortgage discrimination) maps for Cuyahoga and other Ohio counties.

 

8 - Transportation

• American Memory, the Library of Congress "Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio & Erie Canal."
• The Louis Baus Canal Photograph Collection.
• The Erie Lackawanna Railroad Collection.
• Nickel Plate Road Historical & Technical Society. Various history resources
• Great Lakes Vessels Online Image Database. [1830-1980's]
• Saxton, Ren G. Investigation of Highways in Cuyahoga County, Ohio. 1915. -- Civil engineering masters thesis.
• Watson, Wilbur J. "Aviation: From Sand Dunes to Sonic Booms" (the Goodyear Airdock in Akron)

 

9 - Views & Visual Arts

• Ohio Outdoor Sculpture. - A searchable database of sculpture in Ohio.
• Ryder, James F. Voigtlander and I: In Pursuit of Shadow Catching: A Story of Fifty-two Years' Companionship with a Camera.  Ryder operated photo studios in Cleveland and around NE Ohio in the late 19th century.
• Critical Past -- An on-line collection of tens of thousands of video clips, mostly from the 1940s, including segments on NE Ohio.
• Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons -- Kuekes was a Cleveland Plain Dealer editorial cartoonist.

 

10 - Social Networking

• Barrow, William C. Cleveland History Blog -- Interests include maps and real estate history.
• Bobby, Craig.
• Busta-Peck, Christopher.  Cleveland Area History -- Emphasis on preserving historic homes.
• Coleman, Jennifer. Cityprowl.
• Sutcliffe, Dennis R. Lost Cleveland Memories -- Lecture stories about Cleveland's past.

11 - Miscellaneous Topics

• "Indian Trails and Towns in Ohio," from the Archeological Atlas of Ohio, 1914.
• Peskin, Laura. "The Forgotten Indian Earthworks of Cleveland, Ohio," Ohio Archeologist, v6 n2 33. 2011.
• Clough, John B., editor. ...to act as a unit: The Story of the Cleveland Clinic. 2004.
• Cleveland Metropolitan School District Historical Archive - Curriculum resources from the district's archives.
• Journal of Chaussegros de Lery. - An account of the voyage of a French military engineer across the south shore of Lake Erie in 1754.