Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

History of Cleveland & NEO: Key Resources

Resources about the history of greater Cleveland and northeast Ohio.

Early Cleveland Newspaper Photographers

Early Cleveland Newspaper photographers

l-r: Andy Kraffert, Plain Dealer - Louis Van Oeyen, Cleveland Press - Dan Rollins, Cleveland News.

List of Key Resources (and origin)

Cleveland Digital Library -- Direct access to local history resources and links to institutional home pages around NE Ohio. (Now tabs in this Guide)

Cleveland Historical app -- CSU History Department's  mobile app of local history sites.

Cleveland Memory Project -- Tens of thousands of local history images and resources from Special Collections and its NE Ohio partners.

Cleveland Necrology File & News Index - The Cleveland Necrology File, Cleveland Public Library's database of death notices, obituaries and cemetery records is now included within the Cleveland News Index .

Cleveland Press Collection list of Subject folders -- These are the titles for the folders of photographs found in the Press Collection. We will make copies of the contents of the folders you need, upon request.

Cleveland Public Library's Digital Gallery -- Digital material from the collections at CPL

Digital Cleveland History Center -- Western Reserve Historical Society's on-line database of digital history resources.

EAD Finding Aid Repository -- Listing of archival collections and their contents held in Special Collections and other repositories around greater Cleveland and the Ohio in general. (Using Archives)

Encyclopedia of Cleveland History -- The current general history of greater Cleveland

ESRI’s interactive map -- Allows switching between historic maps to see how things changed. (Using Maps)

Plain Dealer on-line -- Search the Plain Dealer from 1845 to 1991.  Free if you have a Cleveland Public Library card, or from the PD for a modest fee if you don't. (Using Newspapers)

Scholar/OhioLINK -- see search box at the top of this page for finding books and materials cataloged in Special Collections

* * *

See the "Using ..." tabs at the top of this page to see more resources and help with different types of information

 

Local History Librarian

Bill Barrow's picture
Bill Barrow
Contact:
email: w.barrow@csuohio.edu
phone: (216) 687-6998 (office)

I am happy to help with questions about local history matters, and would very much appreciate your comments and suggestions. I look forward to hearing from you and helping you with your research.
-Bill Barrow, Head of Special Collections

Special Collections is on the third floor of the Michael Schwartz Library, in Rhodes Tower, and open 1:00-5:00 weekdays.

ClevelandMemory.org
Website