Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Early Cleveland Newspaper Photographers
l-r: Andy Kraffert, Plain Dealer - Louis Van Oeyen, Cleveland Press - Dan Rollins, Cleveland News.
Voigtlander and I
Voigtlander and I: in Pursuit of Shadow Catching -- a charming account of an early photographer's experiences in NE Ohio in the 19th century, capturing residents' "likenesses" with his Voigtlander camera. (James Fitzallen Ryder. Cleveland Printing and Publishing Co. 1902)
One of my colleagues, Ann Marie Smeraldi, has assembled HERE a nice page of helpful tips on starting research projects and using our resources.
Accessing Photographic Prints
Cleveland Press Collection photograph collection
One of Cleveland's largest and most accessible collections of 20th century photography, these 500,000 came from the editorial library of the old Cleveland Press when it ceased publication in 1982. Note the "List of Photograph Subjects."
Cleveland Public Library Photography Collection
"With more than 1.3 million photographs, the Photograph Collection is a tremendous resource for historians, film and video professionals, genealogists, sports enthusiasts, fashion designers and students of documentary history."
Western Reserve Historical Society's Photograph and Print Collection
Four million prints and photographs at NE Ohio's premier historical respository, located on University Circle. Little available on-line.
Plain Dealer Photostore
The Plain Dealer maintains an internal photo library for the use of its staff. Copies of photos published in the paper may be ordered by the public. With the PD now keyword-searchable, it is easier to locate photos through text in their captions.
Other Photo Collections
Photo collections in greater Cleveland and beyond
Cuyahoga County Archives
The County Archives contains photographs, especially a large collection of small black-and-white snapshots of each residential structure in the county in the 1950s.