Research Guides: A General Guide: Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies: Find Articles

Michael Schwartz Library

Research Databases

General:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and other publications in 10 databases, including GPO, OAIster, OpenAccessContent, and WorldCat.
Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
A full text database of journal articles covering a wide range of subjects. Includes review articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in various disciplines of the humanities and social sciences.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Research, policy and scholarly discourse on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.

Biography

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on approximately half a million people from antiquity to the present.

Business:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals, business and industry news on management, economics, marketing, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

Culture, Society, Language and Literature:

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Locate highly cited papers and track citations.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of humanities content from books and journals around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education, feminist research, etc.

History

Politics and International Relations:

International Political Science Abstracts (1989-) This link opens in a new window
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
National and international news, photo- and video-journalism, and other multimedia. This resource updates on a 24/7 basis. Access requires individual account creation.

Religion:

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Jewish studies and the land of Israel, 1938 to the present.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (1974-) This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political and moral philosophy, etc.

Social and General Issues:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada), including extensive content in over 40 languages.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

Michael Schwartz Library