Research Guides: A General Guide: Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies: Find Information about CSU

Michael Schwartz Library

Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies Department

Arabic, B.A.
The Arabic major focuses on the study of Arabic language, literature, history, and culture. The program will provide students with an adequate proficiency in the above mentioned areas that can prepare them for a wide-range of professional opportunities, including careers in governmental positions and jobs in education and business.
Middle Eastern Studies
The program provides courses applicable towards both a Middle Eastern Studies minor and several different majors (Arabic, Classical and Medieval Studies, English, History, International Relations, Political Science, and Religious Studies).
Course Reserves
Search course reserves for class materials.

About the CSU Middle Eastern Collection

The Cleveland State University Library has a basic undergraduate collection in Middle East Studies. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Middle East Studies, the collection crosses Library of Congress classification categories to include every aspect of human endeavor. The collection includes textbooks, research monographs, government reports, websites, sound records, and video recordings. Important electronic indexes to consult when doing research include ATLA Religion Database, PAIS International, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Abstracts, Ethnic NewsWatch, EBSCO Religion and Philosophy Collection, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, and GenderWatch. CSU is expanding its Middle Eastern Studies program and is expanding collections to support the curriculum.