Articles are published in periodicals -- journals, magazines, and newspapers. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by other experts in the same discipline before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching. Research studies are published in peer-reviewed journals.

Below are links to some key Research Databases where you can find articles related to public policy and policy implementation.

Good databases to start with are: Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete. The database named JSTOR is good for historical research since it contains articles dating back to the early 1800s.

Off campus?

Many electronic resources, like Research Databases and eBooks, are restricted to current CSU students, faculty, and staff when accessed remotely. You may be prompted to authenticate by entering your CampusNet ID and Password.  

More information about signing in

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format in the Research Databases. Look for buttons and/or links that say Access Options, Available Online, PDF Full Text, Get PDF, or something similar.

-If an article is NOT available full text from the database you are searching, then check Journal Finder. Use Journal Finder to determine if the Michael Schwartz Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, or newspapers.

-Search for the article title in Google Scholar. Make sure Google Scholar is connected to Cleveland State University and Open WorldCat. Go to Settings--Library Links.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.