Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

Business Resources at Ohio Public Libraries: Home

Introduction

Most of us visited a public library long before we set foot in an academic library. While in many cases we first associate public libraries with entertainment and personal enrichment, many public libraries provide access to the same or similar business databases as academic libraries, which can be used for entrepreneurship and business research.

The state of Ohio is graced with many excellent public library districts. In most cases, you only need to be a resident of the state or work here to qualify for a free library card. This research guide is meant to document the business database holdings of the major public library systems in Ohio.

Please email me at b.c.richards@csuohio.edu if you have a question, suggestion, or spot information in need of correction. 

Akron-Summit County Public Library

Library card information

Databases by subject

Business databases include: 
Business Source Premier
First Research
Hoover’s Online
IBISWorld (In library only)
Mergent Intellect
Morningstar
Small Business Reference Center
Weiss Financial Ratings

Cleveland Public Library

Library card information

Business databases

Business databases include: 
Business – Gale Virtual Reference Library
Business Insights : Essentials
Business Source Premier
Conference Board
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2006)
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010)
Kompass
Mergent Archives
Mergent Online
Mergent Intellect
Morningstar
Reference USA
Regional Business News
Small Business Reference Center
SRDS
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage
Wall Street Journal

Columbus Metropolitan Library

Library card information

Databases by subject

Business databases include:
Business Source Premier
DemographicsNow
Mergent Archives
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Key Business Ratios
NewsBank
Small Business Reference Center

The Public Library of Youngstown & Mahoning County

Library card information

Business databases

Business databases include:
Business Insights Global
Business Source Complete
Demographics Now
​Mergent Archives
Mergent Intellect
Morningstar
Reference USA
S&P Global NetAdvantage

Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County

Library card information

Business databases

Business databases include:
Business NewsBank
Business Source Premier
Cincinnati Business Courier
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Mergent Archives
Mergent Online
Morningstar
Reference USA
Small Business Reference Center

Cuyahoga County Public Library

Library card information

Databases by subject

Business databases include

Business Source Premier
Mergent Intellect
Morningstar
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Small Business Reference Center
Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
ReferenceUSA
Value Line
Wall Street Journal

 

Dayton Public Library

Library card information

Business databases

Business databases include:
A To Z Databases
Business Source Premier
Morningstar
Reference USA Business
Small Business Reference Center

Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Library card information

Business databases

Business databases include:
Broker Check
Business Source Premier
D&B Hoovers
Fund Analyzer by FINRA
Mergent Archives
Mergent Intellect
Morningstar
MRI Simmons Insights
Plunkett Research
Reference USA