MSL buzz: the Michael Schwartz Library blog - Research Guides at Cleveland State University

The Library will be closed on June 19th in observance of Juneteenth

Juneteenth: National Independence Day. Reflect. Celebrate. Educate.

Juneteenth marks the day in 1865 when enslaved people in Galveston, Texas, were informed of their freedom—two and a half years after the signing of the Emancipation Proclamation. Now a federal holiday, Juneteenth is a time to reflect on the enduring struggle for freedom, celebrate Black achievement, and educate ourselves on African American history and culture.

As we pause to honor this day, we invite our campus community to explore these resources and programs that help deepen understanding of Juneteenth and the broader African American experience.

Online Resources & Exhibits

Even while the library is closed, you can access these digital collections 24/7:

CSU Research Guide: African American Studies – Explore curated databases, books, primary sources, and media.
Racial Justice & Anti-Racism Research Guide – This guide highlights key CSU and community resources that address racial equity, systemic injustice, activism, and anti-racism. Find recommended readings, videos, and organizations to support deeper understanding and advocacy.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States – A free ProQuest site featuring historical documents and timelines.
National Museum of African American History & Culture – Juneteenth Portal – Stories, objects, and interviews curated by the Smithsonian.
Kanopy Streaming Video – Watch documentaries like Juneteenth: Faith & Freedom and America After Charleston using your CSU login.
Black Trailblazers, Leaders, Activists, and Intellectuals in Cleveland - a pathfinder to Black local history from our Cleveland Memory project. Historical photographs contextualized through articles, e-books, audio interviews, speeches, and oral histories.

How You Can Engage

Reflect on the meaning of freedom and justice in your own life and community.
Support local events or initiatives that celebrate African American culture and history, such as the Juneteenth Freedom Fest in Cleveland on June 14
Learn about CSU’s programs and campus organizations, such as the Africana Studies Program or the Howard A. Mims African American Cultural Center

The library will reopen with regular hours on Friday, June 20.
Until then, explore our digital collections and stay connected to learning wherever you are.

For questions or support, visit library.csuohio.edu or contact the Africana Studies librarian, Mandi Goodsett at a.goodsett@csuohio.edu

Recent Posts

Discovery@CSU

OUR NEW LIBRARY PLATFORM IS NOW LIVE!Visit our updated Migration Guide for details Discovery @ CSU is now live! Discovery @ CSU is your new interface for OhioLINK, OneSearch, Journal Finder, and all Library materials, including "MyAccount", your self-service library account. The new interface replaces the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio and is better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Your Michael Schwartz Library is working hard to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community. A new guide to help with the transitionWe know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!Questions?CSU and OhioLINK services have resumed, but you may encounter issues as we continue to track down problems and improve our offerings. Please reach out and let us help you if you have any questions! PREVIOUS UPDATES:CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!Visit our Migration Guide for detailsAs a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries will be upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE in the summer of 2025.The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.As part of this transition, OhioLINK requesting and borrowing will be unavailable starting May 23. Starting end-of-day May 26, CSU materials may not be requested/held or renewed, but can still be checked out and returned. All OhioLINK items must be returned by July 7. This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!A new guide to help with the transitionWe know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!Questions?If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!A Statewide CollaborationCSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.Enhancing User Experience"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.What to ExpectAs we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring. For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items. As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025. ...

The Library will be closed on July 4 – Explore Independence Day resources online

The Michael Schwartz Library will be closed on Friday, July 4, 2025, in observance of Independence Day. We will reopen with normal hours on Monday, July 7. While our physical space will be closed, you can still explore a wide range of library resources online to learn more about the history and meaning of this important national holiday. Explore These Independence Day Resources:1. America: History & Life Search for scholarly articles on American history, including the Revolutionary War and the founding of the United States.2. Films on Demand – American History Collection Watch documentaries about the Declaration of Independence, early American democracy, and July 4th traditions.3. U.S. Government Documents Guide Access foundational documents like the Declaration of Independence, Constitution, and more.4. Library eBook Collections Explore eBooks on the American Revolution, U.S. civic history, and influential leaders. Search for whatever interests you.We wish you a safe, joyful, and reflective holiday! For more information and to access these resources, visit library.csuohio.edu. ...

Our New Library Platform is Live!

OUR NEW LIBRARY PLATFORM IS NOW LIVE!OhioLINK checkouts and requests are now available from the new platform.Visit our updated Migration Guide for detailsAs a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries have been working to upgrade our library services platform for over a year.The new interface replaces the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio and is better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Your Michael Schwartz Library is working hard to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community. Discovery @ CSU is now live! OhioLINK checkouts and requests are now available from the new platform.OhioLINK items requested under the old system(checked out before June 11th) must be returned by July 7th.To avoid overdue fines, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025. A new guide to help with the transitionWe know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!Questions?CSU and OhioLINK services have resumed, but you may encounter issues as we continue to track down problems and improve our offerings. Please reach out and let us help you if you have any questions! PREVIOUS UPDATES:CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!Visit our Migration Guide for detailsAs a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries will be upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE in the summer of 2025.The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.As part of this transition, OhioLINK requesting and borrowing will be unavailable starting May 23. Starting end-of-day May 26, CSU materials may not be requested/held or renewed, but can still be checked out and returned. All OhioLINK items must be returned by July 7. This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!A new guide to help with the transitionWe know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!Questions?If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!A Statewide CollaborationCSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.Enhancing User Experience"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.What to ExpectAs we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring. For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items. As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025. ...

Honoring Juneteenth

The Library will be closed on June 19th in observance of JuneteenthJuneteenth marks the day in 1865 when enslaved people in Galveston, Texas, were informed of their freedom—two and a half years after the signing of the Emancipation Proclamation. Now a federal holiday, Juneteenth is a time to reflect on the enduring struggle for freedom, celebrate Black achievement, and educate ourselves on African American history and culture.As we pause to honor this day, we invite our campus community to explore these resources and programs that help deepen understanding of Juneteenth and the broader African American experience. Online Resources & ExhibitsEven while the library is closed, you can access these digital collections 24/7: CSU Research Guide: African American Studies – Explore curated databases, books, primary sources, and media. Racial Justice & Anti-Racism Research Guide – This guide highlights key CSU and community resources that address racial equity, systemic injustice, activism, and anti-racism. Find recommended readings, videos, and organizations to support deeper understanding and advocacy. Black Freedom Struggle in the United States – A free ProQuest site featuring historical documents and timelines. National Museum of African American History & Culture – Juneteenth Portal – Stories, objects, and interviews curated by the Smithsonian. Kanopy Streaming Video – Watch documentaries like Juneteenth: Faith & Freedom and America After Charleston using your CSU login.Black Trailblazers, Leaders, Activists, and Intellectuals in Cleveland - a pathfinder to Black local history from our Cleveland Memory project. Historical photographs contextualized through articles, e-books, audio interviews, speeches, and oral histories. How You Can EngageReflect on the meaning of freedom and justice in your own life and community.Support local events or initiatives that celebrate African American culture and history, such as the Juneteenth Freedom Fest in Cleveland on June 14 Learn about CSU’s programs and campus organizations, such as the Africana Studies Program or the Howard A. Mims African American Cultural CenterThe library will reopen with regular hours on Friday, June 20.Until then, explore our digital collections and stay connected to learning wherever you are. For questions or support, visit library.csuohio.edu or contact the Africana Studies librarian, Mandi Goodsett at a.goodsett@csuohio.edu ...