MSL buzz: the Michael Schwartz Library blog

OUR NEW LIBRARY PLATFORM IS NOW LIVE!
Visit our updated Migration Guide for details
 

The new interface replaces the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio and is better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Your Michael Schwartz Library is working hard to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community. 

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

CSU and OhioLINK services have resumed, but you may encounter issues as we continue to track down problems and improve our offerings. Please reach out and let us help you if you have any questions!

 

 PREVIOUS UPDATES:

CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!
Visit our Migration Guide for details

As a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries will be upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE in the summer of 2025.

The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!

A Statewide Collaboration

CSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.

Enhancing User Experience

"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.

What to Expect

As we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring.  For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:

• From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. 
  During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items.
   
• As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. 
  To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025.
   

The Michael Schwartz Library will be closed on Friday, July 4, 2025, in observance of Independence Day. 
We will reopen with normal hours on Monday, July 7. 

While our physical space will be closed, you can still explore a wide range of library resources online to learn more about the history and meaning of this important national holiday. 

Explore These Independence Day Resources: 1. America: History & Life  Search for scholarly articles on American history, including the Revolutionary War and the founding of the United States. 2. Films on Demand – American History Collection  Watch documentaries about the Declaration of Independence, early American democracy, and July 4th traditions. 3. U.S. Government Documents Guide  Access foundational documents like the Declaration of Independence, Constitution, and more. 4. Library eBook Collections  Explore eBooks on the American Revolution, U.S. civic history, and influential leaders.  Search for whatever interests you.

We wish you a safe, joyful, and reflective holiday! For more information and to access these resources, visit library.csuohio.edu.

OUR NEW LIBRARY PLATFORM IS NOW LIVE!
OhioLINK checkouts and requests are now available from the new platform.
Visit our updated Migration Guide for details

As a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries have been working to upgrade our library services platform for over a year.

The new interface replaces the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio and is better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Your Michael Schwartz Library is working hard to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community. 

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

CSU and OhioLINK services have resumed, but you may encounter issues as we continue to track down problems and improve our offerings. Please reach out and let us help you if you have any questions!

 

 PREVIOUS UPDATES:

CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!
Visit our Migration Guide for details

As a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries will be upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE in the summer of 2025.

The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!

A Statewide Collaboration

CSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.

Enhancing User Experience

"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.

What to Expect

As we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring.  For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:

• From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. 
  During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items.
   
• As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. 
  To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025.
   

The Library will be closed on June 19th in observance of Juneteenth

Juneteenth marks the day in 1865 when enslaved people in Galveston, Texas, were informed of their freedom—two and a half years after the signing of the Emancipation Proclamation. Now a federal holiday, Juneteenth is a time to reflect on the enduring struggle for freedom, celebrate Black achievement, and educate ourselves on African American history and culture.

As we pause to honor this day, we invite our campus community to explore these resources and programs that help deepen understanding of Juneteenth and the broader African American experience.  

Online Resources & Exhibits

Even while the library is closed, you can access these digital collections 24/7: 

• CSU Research Guide: African American Studies – Explore curated databases, books, primary sources, and media. 
• Racial Justice & Anti-Racism Research Guide – This guide highlights key CSU and community resources that address racial equity, systemic injustice, activism, and anti-racism. Find recommended readings, videos, and organizations to support deeper understanding and advocacy. 
• Black Freedom Struggle in the United States – A free ProQuest site featuring historical documents and timelines. 
• National Museum of African American History & Culture – Juneteenth Portal – Stories, objects, and interviews curated by the Smithsonian. 
• Kanopy Streaming Video – Watch documentaries like Juneteenth: Faith & Freedom and America After Charleston using your CSU login.
• Black Trailblazers, Leaders, Activists, and Intellectuals in Cleveland - a pathfinder to Black local history from our Cleveland Memory project. Historical photographs contextualized through articles, e-books, audio interviews, speeches, and oral histories. 
   

How You Can Engage

• Reflect on the meaning of freedom and justice in your own life and community.
• Support local events or initiatives that celebrate African American culture and history, such as the Juneteenth Freedom Fest in Cleveland on June 14  
• Learn about CSU’s programs and campus organizations, such as the Africana Studies Program or the Howard A. Mims African American Cultural Center

The library will reopen with regular hours on Friday, June 20.
Until then, explore our digital collections and stay connected to learning wherever you are. 

For questions or support, visit library.csuohio.edu or contact the Africana Studies librarian, Mandi Goodsett at a.goodsett@csuohio.edu
 

We are delighted to announce that Scott Vine has joined us as the new Director of the Michael Schwartz Library.

Scott brings a wealth of experience in academic librarianship, having held key positions at Carnegie Mellon University, Johns Hopkins University, and most recently serving as Director of the College Library at Franklin & Marshall College, a private liberal arts institution in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. He holds master’s degrees in both philosophy and library/information science, and is an alumnus of the prestigious ACRL/Harvard Leadership Institute for academic library professionals.

Scott is also an active contributor to the field, serving on several editorial and advisory boards, including the board of directors for the Partnership for Academic Library Collaboration and Innovation (PALCI), a consortium of more than 70 academic and research libraries across five states.

Widely recognized for his thoughtful, collaborative leadership style and his deep commitment to supporting students and the university community, Scott brings a strategic vision for library operations and a genuine enthusiasm for advancing our mission together.

Scott officially joins the CSU community on July 7 — please help us welcome him.  We look forward to working together as we continue to support learning and research at Cleveland State University.

CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!
Visit our Migration Guide for details

As a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries is upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE over the summer of 2025.

The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!

 

 PREVIOUS UPDATES:
A Statewide Collaboration

CSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.

Enhancing User Experience

"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.

What to Expect

As we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring.  For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:

• From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. 
  During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items.
   
• As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. 
  To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025.
   

CSU is debuting a new library platform this summer, and the transition is underway!
Visit our Migration Guide for details

As a member of the OhioLINK consortium, the Cleveland State University Libraries will be upgrading our library services platform to Ex Libris Alma/Primo VE in the summer of 2025.

The new interface will replace the Scholar Catalog and OneSearch, as well as the OhioLINK Library Catalog that serves most academic libraries in the state of Ohio. However, the Libraries will be moving to a site better designed to represent today’s library collections that combine online, print and other physical resources.

This upgrade is not just about technology; it's about creating a more seamless and user-friendly experience for everyone on campus. Join us as we embark on this exciting journey to elevate library services and support the academic success of our community!

A new guide to help with the transition

We know this transition might feel a little overwhelming so your librarians have put together a handy Guide to the Library Services Platform Migration to help students, faculty, and everyone else navigate these changes. Inside, you’ll find a clear project timeline, helpful pages tailored just for you, and even a chance to get an early sneak peek at the new catalog. Plus, you can share your feedback to help us make it even better!

Questions?

If you're curious about the new system or have any questions, feel free to reach out to us. We're here to help!

 

 PREVIOUS UPDATES:
A Statewide Collaboration

CSU Library staff, along with colleagues at OhioLINK and 115 member libraries across the state, have been working tirelessly since June 2023 to bring this system migration to life. The project is right on track, and we can't wait to share the benefits with our community.

Enhancing User Experience

"We're looking forward to streamlining library resource management and providing new features that will better serve our faculty and students," notes Marsha Miles, Interim Director of the Michael Schwartz Library. Our campus can look forward to a more intuitive interface that makes finding print and electronic articles, books, and other library materials easier than ever.

What to Expect

As we approach the "go live" date, keep an eye out here for more information about the new system and the changes it will bring.  For now, there are two important dates to be aware of:

• From May 23 - June 13 there will be an OhioLINK Borrowing/Lending Freeze. 
  During this time there will be no requesting, checkout, or renewal possible for OhioLINK items.
   
• As part of the transition, all OhioLINK must be returned to their home libraries before being renewed. 
  To avoid overdue fees, please return all OhioLINK items by Monday, July 7, 2025.
   

From Marsha Miles, Interim Director, Michael Schwartz Library —

Wow. You made it. On behalf of all of us at your Michael Schwartz Library, I want to celebrate your achievement as you reach this important milestone.

Your journey has been remarkable. Over the past few years, you’ve navigated change and embraced new ways of learning, connecting, and collaborating-both online and in person. We’ve enjoyed supporting you through thousands of research consultations, helping you access materials from our extensive collections, and welcoming you back each semester as you filled our study spaces with energy and ideas.

We’re proud that you found your Library to be a vital resource and point of connection for your studies. Many of you worked alongside us, providing essential library services as student assistants-your dedication made a real difference, and we couldn’t have done it without you.

We know the perseverance and creativity you have employed during your years here will serve you well as you step into the next chapter of your journey.

Congratulations! We can’t wait to see what you’ll do next.

PS:  Don't be a stranger! 
Please remember that even though you have graduated, some library services are still available to you. CSU alumni may check out books (including OhioLINK books) with a photo ID, and may use a public access workstation for up to 4 hours per day (subject to availability). Stop in and let us know what you're up to!

Our 8th Annual OpenCon Ohio 2025 Conference 
is slated for May 19-22, 2025

The theme of our event this year is Empowerment, Care, and Community. 

During the week, asynchronous conversations will be held online in Discord to discuss prerecorded lightning talks. On Thursday, May 22, 2025 we will have virtual presentations, interactive conversations, and a keynote presentation delivered by Apurva Ashok, the Rebus Foundation’s Executive Director.
 

Join us this week!

If you are interested in attending a well-established open education conference that:

• Offers maximal flexibility for attendees to view content when it is convenient
• Features an amazing keynote speaker
• Prioritizes community building, both synchronous and asynchronous
• Is completely free and online ...

... then we hope you will join us for OpenCon Ohio 2025!

>> TODAY'S SCHEDULE: MAY 22, 2025 << 

Keynote Speaker Thursday, May 22 via Zoom

Apurva Ashok, Executive Director, The Rebus Foundation

Apurva Ashok is the Executive Director for The Rebus Foundation, a global non-profit and Canadian-registered charity that envisions a liberatory future where lifelong learning is valued as a public good and communities leverage education as a catalyst for positive change. 

Apurva has been working in the Open Education field for nearly 9 years and brings a determination for systemic change. She brings her wide-ranging experience across publishing, program development, community building, impact-driven strategic planning, and media to help educational institutions build more equitable and responsive teaching & learning spaces. 

Apurva has created several professional development offerings for educators, published OER guides including the OER Starter Kit for Program Managers, and supported the creation and adaptation of over 80 OER. Apurva is the recipient of an Open Education Award for Excellence from Open Education Global in recognition of her contributions to the field. At the core, Apurva champions collaboration, human-centric approaches, and open practices in service of better futures for us all.

About OpenCon Ohio

OpenCon Ohio is an annual event that celebrates the benefits of open education to student learning. Faculty, students, librarians, instructional designers, administrators, and others are all welcome to attend our virtual conference. This event is FREE.

We're grateful to our generous sponsors, OhioLINK and Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), for their financial support for this conference.

>> VIEW THE DETAILS AND FULL SCHEDULE HERE <<

CSU Faculty: Apply for the 2025 
CSU Textbook Affordability Summer Symposium
- deadline extended to May 9th! -

• Are you interested in exploring options for reducing the cost of textbooks in one of your courses?
• Are you looking to revitalize the materials in one of your upcoming courses? 
• Do you want to increase the ease of access to your course materials, but you’re unsure where to start? 
• Do you want to learn more about open education or open textbooks? 
• Are you seeking structured support for integrating low- or no-cost materials into one of your upcoming courses?  

If you answered yes to any of these questions, CSU’s Textbook Affordability Summer Symposium might be just what you need!  

Textbook Affordability Summer Symposium 

• What: An in-person learning community providing methods and materials to support faculty in reviewing openly-licensed or other affordable course content.

• When: Friday, May 16th, 2025 from 9:30-noon

• Where: Berkman Hall 444

• Who: All full-time or part-time CSU faculty are welcome to apply.
  Teams of faculty, faculty teaching high enrollment or gateway courses, faculty who are proposing courses for the new Core and/or those planning to teach courses within any of the new Integrated Majors are especially encouraged to participate.

• Incentive: Participants will receive a $100 stipend.

• Why: Because low- or no-cost course materials support student learning and persistence. 

As part of the symposium, participants agree to:

• Attend the in-person symposium on May 16th from 9:30am to 12:00pm
• Review at least one openly-licensed, library-licensed, or low-cost resource in their discipline (options will be provided by a librarian)
• Use at least one openly-licensed, library-licensed, or low-cost resource (required or optional) in a course they are teaching in Fall 2025 or Spring 2026 OR create and use openly licensed ancillary materials for a course they are teaching in Spring 2026 or Fall 2026.

Faculty who have already received a Textbook Affordability Grant or participated in a previous Textbook Affordability Summer Symposium will not be eligible to participate, but participants in the Summer Symposium are eligible and encouraged to apply for future Textbook Affordability grants. 

To apply:
Fill out our application form by May 9th, 2025.  

Applications will be reviewed and acceptance communicated to participants by the end of the month.  

Questions? For more information, email Sara Froehlich at s.froehlich@csuohio.edu or Mandi Goodsett at a.goodsett@csuohio.edu 

We look forward to advocating for affordable learning with you!  

Apply Today!