Now on display: 

Catch a behind-the-scenes preview of our new Mark Fitzgibbons Collection ahead of the special event at the end of the month. Now through October 1, explore the creativity and craftsmanship of Cleveland native Mark Fitzgibbons through a selection of his artwork, theater models, and production notes. Located on the first floor of the Michael Schwartz Library, this fascinating and varied exhibit is available for viewing any time the library is open. 

The new collection, an important resource for teaching, research, and artistic inspiration, is especially valuable for students and faculty in Art & Design and Theater & Dance, directly supporting academic programs while offering something for anyone interested in the performing arts.

Location: First Floor, Michael Schwartz Library
Dates: Now through October 1
Hours: Available during all regular library hours

SAVE THE DATE:

Setting the Stage: 
celebrating the artistry and craftsmanship of Mark Fitzgibbons

Tuesday, September 30, 2025
2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Michael Schwartz Library, 1st Floor

The Michael Schwartz Library invites you to a special afternoon celebrating the artistry and craftsmanship of the Mark Fitzgibbons Collection. Discover the origin and significance of this unique archive, an invaluable resource for researchers and students of theater arts. Explore rare materials that reflect Fitzgibbons’ lifelong journey in theater, showcasing his legacy and lasting influence on theater and film design.

Event Highlights

Attendees will have the opportunity to:

  • Tour the Library’s Special Collections and view the exhibition.
  • Experience original sketches, drawings, models, portfolios, and paraphernalia created over decades by Mark Fitzgibbons.
  • Appreciate the detail and artistry of his handcrafted works, recognized for both their beauty and research value.

About the Collection

The Mark Fitzgibbons Collection features a rich assortment of artwork, production paperwork, and theater models documenting his prolific career as a set designer and art director for stage and screen. Included are never-before-seen creations inspired by urban landscapes, which brought authenticity and artistic flair to theater environments.

Exhibition contents include:

  • Original artwork and sketches revealing Fitzgibbons' creative process.
  • Theater models used as visual blueprints in productions.
  • Production notes, concept drawings, and documentation from iconic shows and films.


About the Artist

Mark Fitzgibbons, a Northeast Ohio native, apprenticed at Musicarnival, a pioneering Cleveland-area summer tent theater. He earned his MFA from Kent State University, where he created and directed an adaptation of “A Tale of Two Cities,” later produced at the Cleveland Play House. Fitzgibbons’ resume includes work at Karamu House and The Cleveland Opera before moving to New York City, where he contributed set and stage designs for Broadway, movies, and television—including “The Nutcracker,” “Master Class,” “The Secret Garden,” “Mona Lisa Smile,” “The Lovely Bones,” “I Am Legend,” and “Late Night with David Letterman”