Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

MSL buzz: the Michael Schwartz Library blog

New for Fall 2021: An Improved A-Z List of Research Databases

posted by Donna Stewart on 2021-08-25T15:26:00-04:00 | Comments


Welcome back, researchers! 

Our indispensable lists of research databases have had a facelift
 over the summer, and the robust new version is both easier to use for you, and faster and simpler to maintain for us. 

RESEARCH DATABASES A-Z

You'll now find just a single link to a full A-Z list, from which you may more easily select subjects or limit results to a variety of database types, like raw data sources, news sites, e-books, dictionaries, government sites, streaming media, maps, etc.  A few helpful new features include:

  • Icons to help you quickly identify categories of type or access while browsing the full list, as well as to indicate which sources are provided by the proxy, and even a few which are only available from on campus. Rollover each icon for a brief definition.
  • New, trial, or temporary access is clearly labeled and described
  • Multidisciplinary databases listed on multiple Research Guides are tagged "popular".
  • The new database format allows us all to quickly find our favorite sources - even if we can't quite remember their new names! 

Here's a sample of the new format:

  • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
  • Source for Raw Data
  • News sites & newspapers
Popular
Containing more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

We will be adding to these categories over the course of the semester, so it should just keep getting better and more useful for us all.  We encourage you to browse the new list and let us know what you think!

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...