Research Guides: SWK Research Guide for Graduate Students: Research Resources

Michael Schwartz Library

Social Work Librarian

Personalized Research Help

Welcome to your Research Guide for Social Work Graduate Students!

This guide will make it easier to find the best articles and other resources for your class assignments. Use the navigation tabs on the left to find what you need.

For personalized research help, schedule time to meet with me. I'm looking forward to talking with you about your research!

Systematic Research Strategy

A thorough review of the literature includes:

Searching multiple databases
Using synonyms, related terms, and controlled vocabulary (e.g. MeSH terms/headings, APA Thesaurus, etc.) in addition to your topic keywords
Searching concepts separately to reveal limiting variables
Combining concepts strategically to focus results without over-narrowing
Using database limiters/filters thoughtfully
Applying inclusion/exclusion criteria as you skim result lists
Scheduling a research appointment to brainstorm search options with your Personal Librarian

Essential Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in sociology and the social sciences.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the behavioral health sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (1968-) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering the field of criminology: offenders, victims, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, corrections, crime prevention, etc.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for the sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Facilitates discovery of citing and cited references.

More databases:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of the literature of Nursing and allied health, including Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Speech and Hearing.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers health topics including medicine, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
ERIC (EBSCOhost Interface) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Interface. Indexes and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice. Provides full-text for some ERIC documents.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, it provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

All CSU Databases

Off-campus Access

Are you off campus?

Many electronic resources (research databases, e-books, etc.) are limited to CSU students, faculty, and staff when accessed off campus. You may be prompted to authenticate by entering your CampusNet ID and password.

Questions? Here are some tips for resolving common connection problems.

The Encyclopedia of Social Work requires a different authentication process. Please follow the link and steps below for remote access to this important resource.

Encyclopedia of Social Work by Cynthia Franklin, editor
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780199975839
Publication Date: consistently updated
Use on-campus or off-campus link as appropriate.
When off-campus, you will be prompted to:
1. select your institution (Cleveland State)
2. main campus (leave default in place)
3. enter your name as it appears on your ID (last name first, e.g. Smith Jane)
4. enter your CSU ID number