Research Guides: Music Therapy Practicum: Articles

Michael Schwartz Library

Essential Databases

Music Index (1979-) This link opens in a new window
Journals in the music literature.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of the literature of Nursing and allied health, including Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Speech and Hearing.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the scholarly literature in medicine and other biomedical sciences. Mobile version of MEDLINE.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Exhaustive coverage of the biomedical literature, including pre-publication citations.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation index of peer-reviewed journals published worldwide in science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

_______________________________________

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the behavioral health sciences.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Trip Database
Free database; check Journals at CSU to see if we have full text access to a particular article.
All CSU Databases
Use "All Subjects" drop-down menu to browse databases in other disciplines.

Search Tips

Start with one or two keywords
- Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND music)
- If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (alzheimer's OR dementia)
Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
Apply limiters thoughtfully
- After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
- Other limiters to try:
  - Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
  - Other database-specific limit options (age range, type of study, etc.)

Michael Schwartz Library