A thorough review of the literature includes:

• Searching multiple databases
• Using synonyms, related terms, and controlled vocabulary (e.g. MeSH terms/headings) in addition to your topic keywords
• Searching concepts separately to reveal limiting variables
• Combining concepts strategically to focus results without over-narrowing
• Using database limiters/filters thoughtfully
• Applying inclusion/exclusion criteria as you skim result lists 
• Scheduling a research appointment to brainstorm search options with your Personal Librarian

Start your search for articles in these Core Nursing Research Databases.
The first 2 databases (CINAHL and Medline) can be searched simultaneously. Start in CINAHL and click on the name of the database above the search entry boxes to select multiple databases. Then apply the Peer Review filter.

_______________________________________

More Databases:

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are a controlled vocabulary of terms that describe medical conditions, procedures, interventions, etc. MeSH terms are assigned to content in biomedical literature databases (Medline, PubMed, etc.) to allow researchers to enhance keyword search strategy development. 

Productive and effective searching:

• Start with one or two keywords 
  • Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND exercise)
  • If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (cardiac or heart)
• Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
• Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
• Apply limiters thoughtfully
  • After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
  • Other limiters to try:
    • Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
    • Other database-specific limit options (research article, randomized controlled trial, etc.)
    • Use limiters with caution - metadata imperfections may lead to over-limiting

Can't access the article or book you need? Use our Inter-library loan (ILL) service!