Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ENG 240: Introduction to Poetry

A guide for students enrolled in ENG 240. This guide offers guidance and resources for students beginning their journey into the world of poetry

Research Guide for ENG 240

Words for poets to useWelcome to the research guide for ENG 240: Introduction to Poetry.  This guide provides information about the Michael Schwartz Library's poetry collection as well as the resources that will assist you in exploring and researching all aspects of poetry including poets, criticism, analysis, and composition. Please don't hesitate to contact me with questions--my contact information is to the right.

Essential Resources

CSU Poetry Center

The Cleveland State University Poetry Center was established in 1962 at the former Fenn College of Engineering to promote poetry through readings and community outreach. In 1971, it expanded its mission to become a national non-profit independent press under the auspices of the Cleveland State University Department of English, and has since published nearly 200 rangy, joyful, profound, astonishing, complicated, surprising, and aesthetically diverse collections of contemporary poetry and prose by established and emerging authors. The Cleveland State University Poetry Center publishes between three and five collections of contemporary poetry and prose a year, with a national distribution and reach.

Contemporary Poetry Collection

The Hazel Collister Hutchison Contemporary Collection and accompanying reading area, jointly managed by the Library and the CSU Poetry Center, houses a major collection of contemporary poetry books and journals founded on gifts from the Cleveland poet, Hazel Collister Hutchison and from the CSU Poetry Center. The collection, which can be found on shelving immediately outside the Poetry Room, is open to students, writers, and the community.
                                                                      

Poetry Room


The room is used often for Poetry Center workshops and meetings, and occasionally for creative writing classes. This is the only collection of its kind in northern Ohio.  The Poetry Center is located on the fourth floor of the Michael Schwartz Library.  

For more information call (216) 687-6997.