Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

NUR 200 - Theory and Professional Practice

A guide for students in Nursing 200 classes

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathy Fisher
she/her
Contact:
RT 110A
(216) 687-2365

Core Nursing Research Databases

Start your search for articles in these Core Nursing Research Databases.
The first 3 databases (CINAHL, Health Source, and MEDLINE) can be searched simultaneously, by
clicking on the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the CINAHL database).

_______________________________________

Biography Database

Google Scholar

Search Tips

Productive and effective searching:

  • Start with one or two keywords 
    • Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND exercise)
    • If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (cardiac or heart)
  • Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
  • Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
  • Apply limiters thoughtfully
    • After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
    • Other limiters to try:
      • Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
      • Journal Subset: Core Nursing (in CINAHL, this limits results to nursing journals only)
      • Other database-specific limit options (any author is a nurse, randomized controlled trial, etc.)
Can't access the article or book you need? Use our Inter-library loan (ILL) service!