This site provides 360° panoramas of various sites from the Ancient Greek world.

"Digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. Covers the Archaic and Classical Greek world, with Latin text, Renaissance materials, and Papyri." --Librarian's Index to the Internet

Fordham University

Brigham Young University

Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government from ancient times to the 21st century.

Full texts of almost 1500 classic works on art, economics, history, law, literature, music, philosophy, political theory, religion, science, sociology, war and peace.

Collection of primary sources

A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use

Large, well-organized collection of print and visual primary sources from ancient to current times.

Try a keyword search for "United States Civil War." Collections that contain materials from this time period will come up as results.

Large, well-organized collection of print and visual primary sources from ancient to current times. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.

Digitized images and other primary source documents

Enables simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums, including: Arachne (Research Archive for Ancient Sculpture-Cologne); the Beazley Research Archive; the Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologicae Classicae; the German Archaeological Institute (DAI); and the LGPN (Lexicon of Greek Personal Names).

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is committed to making a broad range of digital images of artworks in the public domain widely and freely available for scholarly and academic publication. To assist in navigating the vast image content on this website, the Museum has implemented Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC). Through OASC, artworks in the Collection section of the website which the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions have been identified by an icon, and images associated with these artworks can be downloaded for license- and cost-free scholarly and academic publication, according to the Terms and Conditions.