Research Guides: BUS 351: Business, Society, &amp; Government: Home

Michael Schwartz Library

Project Resources

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies produces detailed essays highlight current events and debates related to social, economic, and ethical topics. They provide lengthy bibliographies and related content.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia is not a suitable source serious scholarly research, but it can give a solid overview of topics. You can also consult the bibliography for additional sources.
Library Books
Print and ebooks will cover topics more broadly then most articles in a library database well. They are a good source for background information and details alike.

Points of View Reference Source (2007-) This link opens in a new window
Covers hundreds of topics on current issues, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Congressional Research Service
Comprehensive overviews of issues pertaining to current and past legislation or governmental-related issues

Wall Street Journal
It may be easier to browse the WSJ.com website, then search for full text articles.
Business News Podcasts
A good sampling of some top podcasts to keep up-to-date on current business news.
NPR Business & Financial News
A mix of podcasts and audio stories and text news from a reliable, unbiased source.
The Hustle
An easy to read, distilled version of some top stories that usually link back to a bigger issue. This is more of a personal recommendation :)
Aljazeera Business
A good non-American perspective in business news.
Reuters Business
Good international and up-to-date coverage
Business Ethics - Magazine

New York Times This link opens in a new window
National and international news, photo- and video-journalism, and other multimedia. This resource updates on a 24/7 basis. Access requires individual account creation.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Best source for business-oriented scholarly research and industry news. Use 'all text' from the drop down menu for more targeted keyword searching
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-discipline scholarly research database. Many topics will be covered by more than just the business discipline.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of the Wall Street Journal. Broad coverage of business news.
The Michael Schwartz Library and the Wall Street Journal have partnered to provide a complimentary subscription to all current Cleveland State University students, faculty and staff. Subscribers will have full digital access to wsj.com and the Wall Street Journal app and can access through those services after registering.

Activate your complimentary subscription now by visiting https://www.wsj.com/clevelandstate using your CSU credentials and following the instructions.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access NYTimes.com and create a sign in or login. Solid national and international coverage.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's best law journals and covers legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and the environment.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Containing more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Onling Writing Lab - APA
Provides reference list and in text citation examples for all basic source types in APA.
Online Writing Lab - MLA
Provides reference list and in text citation examples for all basic source types in MLA.
Zotero - Citation software
Changes to APA with 7th edition
Up-to-date APA 7th edition Guide

Harvard Business Review
While not every topic covered here will be controversial, new research will be discussed here which might lead to debatable topics.

Points of View Reference Source (2007-) This link opens in a new window
Browse available topics under Internet, Media & Communications, Labor and Economics. When looking at a topic overview, you can click 'Points of View' on the left to see more specific topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Browse subjects by scrolling down the page and clicking 'Economy, Money, and Business'.

Another good source of issues that can potentially be a source of debate are the opinion, editorial, and commentary sections of large news publications.

New York Times Opinion section
remember - as CSU students you can get access to nytimes.com with your own account! Sign up through the link below.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
National and international news, photo- and video-journalism, and other multimedia. This resource updates on a 24/7 basis. Access requires individual account creation.

Wall Street Journal Opinion
Wall Street Journal articles are available through a CSU database - or through the Cuyahoga County Public Library with actual WSJ.com access.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from the Wall Street Journal from January 2, 1984 through today's issue. Available via a complimentary subscription to all current Cleveland State University students, faculty and staff. Activate your subscription using your CSU credentials and following the instructions.
The Michael Schwartz Library and the Wall Street Journal have partnered to provide a complimentary subscription to all current Cleveland State University students, faculty and staff. Subscribers will have full digital access to wsj.com and the Wall Street Journal app and can access through those services after registering.

Activate your complimentary subscription now by visiting https://www.wsj.com/clevelandstate using your CSU credentials and following the instructions.

Accessing Wall Street Journal and NYTimes.com

Accessing the New York Times through the CSU library's group pass.
You can get your own NYtimes.com account through the CSU library, Click here to learn how.
WSJ.com
WSJ.com access. Create an account with a CSU email and then just sign in directly to WSJ.com or WSJ app.

Michael Schwartz Library

BUS 351: Business, Society, & Government

Your personal librarian: Ben Richards

Welcome

Project Resources

Accessing Wall Street Journal and NYTimes.com