Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

EDL 504: Literacy Development for Diverse Literacy Learners: K-12 Resources

INFOhio

INFOhio
Ohio's preK-12 digital library with resources for Students and for Educators.

Curriculum Materials Collection

See the Curriculum Materials Collection Research Guide for more information.

Activity Wheels & Flip Charts

Here are some materials that may be helpful in your lesson planning. They are located in the Curriculum Area inside the Digital Design Studio on the 3rd floor of the Michael Schwartz Library.

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Children's and Young Adult Books
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Reviews and teaching ideas.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
Cleveland Public Library
Outstanding children's literature collection.
Cooperative Children's Book Center
Reach Out and Read
Program that promotes the value of reading aloud to children.
Youth Media Awards
American Library Association (ALA) Awards.

Cleveland/Ohio Schools; Standards & Benchmarks

Cleveland Metropolitan School District
Common Core State Standards Initiative
Content Knowledge
Compilation of Content Standards for K-12 Curriculum.
Education Commission of the States (ECS)
Educator Licensure (ODE)
Every Student Succeeds Act
From the U.S. Department of Education
The Nation's Report Card
National Assessment of Educational Progress.
No Child Left Behind
Ohio Department of Education (ODE)
Most extensive information about Ohio education, including report cards, proficiency test information, academic content standards.
Ohio Graduation Tests (OGT)
Ohio's Learning Standards
Ohio Department of Education's Standards by Discipline.
State/Local Report Cards (ODE)
Testing and Assessments (ODE)

K-12 Lesson Plans/Classroom Activities

Why reinvent the wheel? Check out these resources for lesson plans and classroom activities.

Center for Media Literacy
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Discovery Education - Lesson Plan Library
Education World
Edutopia
Health Literacy Special Collection
For teaching health to people with limited literacy skills
History Classroom
Illuminations
Resources for Teaching Math
International Literacy Association (ILA)
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Everything
KidsHealth
Doctor-approved health information about children from birth through adolescence
LD Online
Learning disabilities and ADHD
The Learning Network (The New York Times)
News summaries with related lesson plans
Lesson Planet
NASA Education
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
National Council for Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
National Geographic Education
PBS Learning Media
PBS NewsHour Extra
PE Central
Developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth
Reading Rockets
ReadWriteThink
Smithsonian Education
SPARK PE (Physical Education)
Stanford History Education Group
TeacherServe
TEDEd (Lessons Worth Sharing)

K-12 Research Databases

Below are links to EBSCO Research Databases provided by the Michael Schwartz Library that most K-12 students also have access to through INFOhio:

MAS Ultra School Edition (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
Middle Search Plus (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, including periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Vocational and Career Collection (1985-) This link opens in a new window
Designed for vocational and technical libraries serving high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this collection provides full text coverage for 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

ePortfolios

11 Essentials for Excellent ePortfolios
Balancing the Two Faces of E-Portfolios (Dr. Helen Barrett)
Edublogs
ePortfolios for Learning
By Dr. Helen Barrett, retired teacher educator, internationally known for her research on electronic portfolios in education.
ePortfolios with Google Apps

Michael Schwartz Library

EDL 504: Literacy Development for Diverse Literacy Learners: K-12 Resources

INFOhio

Curriculum Materials Collection

Activity Wheels & Flip Charts

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Cleveland/Ohio Schools; Standards & Benchmarks

K-12 Lesson Plans/Classroom Activities

K-12 Research Databases

ePortfolios

WebQuests