Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search! For example, a basic keyword search on "reading strategies" AND "middle school" retrieves over 10,000 items.

Use the limits in OneSearch to narrow your results. You can limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can limit results by Publication Date. You can limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the Research Databases.

-If not, then select the Find It! link or the Full Text Finder link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!

-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles, books, dissertations, and other materials you need that are not available from the Michael Schwartz Library or from OhioLINK.

Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.

The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.

Research Databases contain citations or references to articles. They may also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. The Library pays to provide access to these Research Databases -- they are not free!

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by other experts in the same subject area before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most Research Databases will allow you to LIMIT your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.

Start your search for articles in some of the databases listed below, especially the core databases named Education Research Complete and ERIC.

There are many Newspaper Research Databases available from the Michael Schwartz Library. Try searching in the following databases if you need the full text of newspaper articles: