Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
+ Think of synonyms or similar words that convey the same meaning
+ Look at related terms that are displayed when searching a database to see which words are most commonly used for that topic/concept
+ If you don't get many relevant results in one database, try a different one
+ When you locate a very relevant article, use the terms from that article and its references
+ Use AND, OR, & NOT to connect search terms
+ To be more specific, search only in the TITLE field
After searching in the Journal List, if the article or paper you need is not available at CSU, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles. Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic.
A search in certain databases, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection, can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking off the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit your results."
Another way to determine if an article is peer-reviewed is by checking the journal, not article, title in Ulrich's International Periodical Directory. Enter the journal title and if a referee shirt 
is shown in the listing, it is refereed or peer-reviewed.
Search by journal title to see if CSU subscribes to a particular journal in full text (note date coverage).
Below are several databases that will be especially useful in reasearching your paper for this class.
1. Search in the appropriate Research Databases using subject terms for your topic. Be sure to check the "Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly" journal box. Searching on:
is a good place to start.
2. If the article you want is not available in full text in the database or the link is broken, search for the journal title in the A-Z Journal List.
3. If CSU doesn't subscribe to that journal in print or online format (i.e. it is not in our Journal List), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (see links below.)
The following databases can be accessed online using a valid CPL card (Greater Access Card). If you don't have this card, you can apply for one at the User Services desk in the CSU library. Login below with your CPL card number and password.