Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ESC 102 Research Guide: Research Databases

A guide for Jon Negrelli's and Corina Fleaca's Technical Writing and Professional Communication Class

Research Databases

You may search the databases listed below for journal articles and conference papers.

Choosing Search Terms

+ Think of synonyms or similar words that convey the same meaning

+ Look at related terms that are displayed when searching a database to see which words are most commonly used for that topic/concept

+ To connect search terms, use AND or use OR:

"AND" Operator - narrows search and decreases results

Example: Searching for gas turbines AND History  (the history of gas turbines)

-------------------------------------------------

"OR" Operator - broadens search and increases results (useful for synonyms)
 

Example: Searching for "Electronic Commerce" OR E-commerce

+ To be more specific, search only in the TITLE field

+ If you don't get many relevant results in one database, try a different one

+ When you locate a very relevant article, use the terms from that article and its references

 

Steps to Locating Articles on a Topic

1. Search in the appropriate Research Databases using subject terms for your topic.

2. If the article you want is not available in full text in the database or the link is broken, search for the journal title in Journals at CSU below.

3. If CSU doesn't subscribe to that journal in print or online format (i.e. it is not in "Journals at CSU"), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Find a Journal Reference

Interlibrary Loan

After searching in Journals at CSU, if the article or paper you need is not available at CSU, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject-Specific Engineering Research Databases

Newspapers

Google Scholar

Subject Guide

Theresa Nawalaniec's picture
Theresa Nawalaniec

Contact:
Michael Schwartz Library
RT 110F
216-687-3504

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles.  Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic. Peer-reviewed articles are the best available.

A search in Academic Search Complete and other select research databases can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking off the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit your results."