Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

UST 206: Megacities of Asia: SAMPLE CRITICAL THINKING ESSAY #2 FROM PREVIOUS SEMESTER

SAMPLE ASSIGNMENT: CRITICAL THINKING ESSAY #2

NOTE: THIS IS A SAMPLE ASSIGNMENT FROM A PREVIOUS SEMESTER! FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY!!

Here are some research tips for Critical Thinking Essay #2: Sustainable Development in Tokyo.

Read the assignment instructions. You must use evidence from the following sources:

To search from home or off-campus, you will need a Library PIN. If you don’t have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Before you start searching the databases, review Goal 11 and Goal 11 Targets to identify keywords. Think of synonyms and related terms. You will search on different keywords and combinations of terms to find information. Remember, your goal is to find credible and RELEVANT sources to cite as evidence in your assignment. For example:

Tokyo                  Tokyo                                Tokyo                        Tokyo                       Tokyo                      Tokyo                     Tokyo               
AND AND AND AND AND AND AND
Sustainability Sustainable development Sustainable Energy Environment Housing Pollution

Academic Search Complete / Business Source Complete / Environment Complete

  • When you access the database, you will see the Advanced Search screen. Enter your main keywords into the separate search boxes and connect them with the operator AND. To conduct a keyword search, leave the boxes as Select a Field (optional). 
  • Under the Limit your results section of the database, turn the checkmark ON next to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. In the peer review process, an article is assessed by experts in the same subject area before being accepted by the journal for publication. Limit your results by Published Date from 2012 to 2017. Then select the Search button to generate a list of results.
  • Many articles will be available full text inside the database, either in HTML or PDF format. You can read, print, email, or save the articles. Also use the Find It! and/or Full Text Finder links inside the database to connect to the full text of articles.

JSTOR

  • When you access JSTOR, go to the Advanced Search screen. Enter your main keywords into the separate search boxes and connect them with the operator AND. Please note that JSTOR is set to search in the Full-Text for your keywords.
  • Under the Narrow By section of the database, turn the checkmark ON next to Articles under Item Type and enter Date Range from 2012 to 2017. Select the Search button to generate a list of results.
  • Use the Download PDF button to view the full text of an article from your results.