Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
To find books about your film and/or director, begin with a keyword search in the Scholar Online Catalog and/or the OhioLINK Library Catalog (for example: chinatown polanski). Then look at the Subjects assigned to the items you retrieve. Use the Subject links to find additional sources.
To find books about economic, political, and/or social events of a particular decade or era, also start with a keyword search in Scholar and/or OhioLINK. The possibilities are endless! Some examples to search: 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement. Once you retrieve relevant items, look at the Subjects assigned to them. Use the Subject links to find other sources.
You can also search by Subject in the Scholar Online Catalog and the OhioLINK Library Catalog. Some useful Library of Congress Subject Headings begin as follows:
United States -- Economic conditions --
United States -- History --
United States -- Politics and government --
United States -- Social conditions --
Scroll through the list of Subjects until you find the appropriate time period. Then click on the link to retrieve all items that have been assigned that particular subject. For example:
United States -- Economic conditions -- 1961-1971
United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1953
The 1920s by
The American 1920s had many names: the Roaring Twenties, the Jazz Age, the Dry Decade, and the Flapper generation. Whatever the moniker, these years saw the birth of modern America. This volume shows the many colorful ways the decade altered America, its people, and its future. American Popular Culture Through History volumes include a timeline, cost comparisons, chapter bibliographies, and a subject index.
The 1930s by
Most historical studies bury us in wars and politics, paying scant attention to the everyday effects of pop culture. Welcome to America's other history--the arts, activities, common items, and popular opinions that profoundly impacted our national way of life. The twelve narrative chapters in this volume provide a textured look at everyday life, youth, and the many different sides of American culture during the 1930s. Additional resources include a cost comparison of common goods and services, a timeline of important events, notes arranged by chapter, an extensive bibliography for further reading, and a subject index. The dark cloud of the Depression shadowed most Americans' lives during the 1930s. Books, movies, songs, and stories of the 1930s gave Americans something to hope for by depicting a world of luxury and money. Major figures of the age included Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, Irving Berlin, Amelia Earhart, Duke Ellington, the Marx Brothers, Margaret Mitchell, Cole Porter, Joe Louis, Babe Ruth, Shirley Temple, and Frank Lloyd Wright. Innovations in technology and travel hinted at a Utopian society just off the horizon, group sports and activities gave the unemployed masses ways to spend their days, and a powerful new demographic--the American teenager--suddenly found itself courted by advertisers and entertainers.
The 1940s by
Twelve narrative chapters chronicle the nation's survival during wartime and its path toward unforeseen cultural shifts in the years ahead. Included are chapter bibliographies, a timeline, a cost comparison, and a suggested reading list for students. This latest addition to Greenwood's American Popular Culture Through History series is an invaluable contribution to the study of American popular culture.
The 1960s by
This book describes the important changes in American society during the 60s, from feminism and civil rights to the Cuban Missile Crisis. Individual chapters explore various aspects of popular culture, including advertising, fashion, literature, music, visual arts, and travel. Supplemental resources include a timeline of important events, an extensive bibliography for further reading, and a subject index. This book describes the important changes in American society during the 60s, from feminism and civil rights to the Cuban Missile Crisis. Individual chapters explore various aspects of popular culture, including advertising, fashion, literature, music, visual arts, and travel. Supplemental resources include a timeline of important events, an extensive bibliography for further reading, and a subject index. Iconoclasts such as Muhammad Ali, Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, Joe Namath, Ralph Nader, and Andy Warhol brought color and controversy to this tumultuous decade, while cultural events such as the Stonewall March, The Graduate, and the Monterey Pop Festival provided indelible images of a bellwether time in American society. Whether it was Beatlemania, bell-bottoms, or bumper stickers, the cultural contributions of the 60s showed that the times were definitely a-changin'.
The 1970s by
Few conventions were left unchallenged in the 1970s as Americans witnessed a decade of sweeping social, cultural, economic, and political upheavals. The fresh anguish of the Vietnam War, the disillusionment of Watergate, the recession, and the oil embargo all contributed to an era of social movements, political mistrust, and not surprisingly, rich cultural diversity. It was the Me Decade, a reaction against 60s radicalism reflected in fashion, film, the arts, and music. Songs of the Ramones, the Sex Pistols, and Patti Smith brought the aggressive punk-rock music into the mainstream, introducing teenagers to rebellious punk fashions. It was also the decade of disco: Who can forget the image of John Travolta as Tony Manero in Saturday Night Fever decked out in a three-piece white leisure suit with his shirt collar open, his hand points towards the heavens as the lighted disco floor glares defiantly below him? While the turbulent decade ushered in Ms. magazine, Mood rings, Studio 54, Stephen King horror novels, and granola, it was also the decade in which over 25 million video game systems made their way into our homes, allowing Asteroids and Pac-Man games to be played out on televisions in living rooms throughout the country. Whether it was the boom of environmentalism or the bust of the Nixon administration and public life as we knew it, the era represented a profound shift in American society and culture.
The 1980s by
The eighties are seen by many as a time of excess and extremes. From Boy George to Madonna, metal heads to valley girls, and workout clothes to shoulder pads, many pushed the boundaries of what was was conventional. After a decade of war, disillusionment of the government, advances in civil rights, and disco, Americans became status seekers and shopaholics and the Me generation was born. Twelve narrative chapters describe the decade of decedence and its impact on popular culture including: the AIDS epidemic, preppies, Miami Vice, the Rubik's Cube, E.T., hair bands, the advent of the personal computer, malls, Ronald Reagan, Pac-Man, Cheers, Stephen King, Michael Jackson, the shuttle Challenger explosion, Bonfire of the Vanities, music videos, Roseanne, the power suit, Less Than Zero, rap music, and The Cosby Show, among many others. Chapters on Everyday America and the World of Youth describe the important changes in American society, from Ronald Reagan's War on Drugs, to latch-key kids, to Black Monday. The following ten chapters explore the many aspects of popular culture-everything from advertising to fashion, literature to music, travel to the visual arts-that influenced Americans in the eighties. Supplemental resources include a timeline of important events, an extensive bibliography for further reading and a subject index.
The 1990s by
The last decade of the millennium was, in many ways, the most diverse and fascinating in the history of American culture. Alternative subcultures gained unprecedented exposure, manifest in such phenomena as grunge music, gansta rap, hip-hop fashion, raves, extreme sports, and the art of Robert Mapplethorpe and Andres Serrano. Twin Peaks, The X-Files, and The Phantom Menace brought science fiction to the mainstream. Bands such as Nirvana and Pearl Jam spread the Seattle rock scene across America. And even coffeehouse culture went mainstream with the proliferation of the Starbucks chain. Ethnic minorities, youth culture, and homosexual society all achieved larger roles in shaping the American identity. Meanwhile, corporate America pressed onward in its never-ending search for high ratings, giant profits, and more bang for its buck. The twelve narrative chapters in this book depict the United States as brought to you by Generation X—a culture busting out in new and unforeseen ways. The volume also includes chapter bibliographies, a timeline, cost comparisons, and lists of suggested further reading.
The 2000s by
Welcome to Pop Culture 2.0. In the 2000s, Generation eXposure, emerged from the marriage of new technology and the nation's obsession with celebrity. Social media technology, such as MySpace, YouTube, Facebook, and countless blogs, gave everyman a voice and a public persona that they could share with friends across the street or around the world. Suddenly, it was not enough to imitate Britney Spears or Paris Hilton, technology gave everyone a platform to launch their own 15 minutes of fame. The fixation on self and celebrity acted as a diversion from more serious challenges the nation faced, including President George W. Bush's War on Terror. The wars overseas sharply divided the country, after a moment of national unity after the terrorist attacks on 9/11, which took away one of the world's most recognizable buildings. The era witnessed interest rates dropping to historic lows, but later subprime became one of the most searched terms on Google as the nation teetered on recession. Big was in like never before and suddenly people nationwide could buy or build their own McMansion-a slice of the American dream. While supersized homes and fast food meals became commonplace, the electronics and transportation advances proved that good things came in increasingly smaller packages. Apple's iPod reinvented how people interacted with music, hybrids changed thoughts on fuel efficiency as a gallon of gas topped $3. Cell phones usage ballooned in our always on society, while physically shrinking to the size of a deck of cards. Yes, me-centric Pop Culture 2.0, which the pundits predicted would some day arrive, burst onto the scene and ultimately transformed the way we interact with one another and the world around us. Chapters inside the latest volume in the American Popular Culture Through History series explore various aspects of popular culture, including advertising, literature, leisure activities, music visual arts, and travel. Supplemental resources include a timeline of important events, cost comparisons, and an extensive bibliography for further reading.
Scholar is the online catalog of the CSU Libraries. For every item that the Michael Schwartz Library or the Law Library owns, a summary or description is created and is added into Scholar.
Use Scholar to search for BOOKS and for other items, like DVDs and videos. Use the research databases to find articles.
You can search for items a number of ways, including by Title, Author, Keyword, or Subject.
Use the search box below for a basic keyword search, or go to the Scholar Online Catalog. You can use the Advanced Search screen for more complex searches -- combine keywords, apply limits, sort results.
The Michael Schwartz Library is a member of OhioLINK, which is a consortium of about 90 university and college libraries in Ohio.
The OhioLINK Library Catalog is the online catalog of the member libraries. As a CSU student, you can borrow books and materials from OhioLINK member libraries. Just click on the green Request button, and then enter and submit the required information. It usually takes 3-5 working days for an item to arrive via OhioLINK. You will receive an email informing you when an item has arrived, or you can login to My Account to view the status of a requested item.
You can search for items several ways, including by Keyword, Title, Author, and Subject. An Advanced Search is also available.
The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to eBooks (Electronic Books). The full listing of eBook collections can be found on the Virtual Reference Desk: Electronic Books page.
Some of these collections, like Google Books, are available to everyone for free on the Internet.
Other eBook collections, like the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, are available only to CSU faculty, staff, and students because the Library pays for them. Most of the eBooks that the Library has purchased are cataloged and added into the Scholar Online Catalog. You can search for eBooks in Scholar.
Search in the Ohio public library systems to find books, especially after you graduate from CSU. Some options include:
