Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.
To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.
Start with these sources to get background information, history, and overview of your research topics.
Issues & Controversies (1995-) This link opens in a new window
Presents and enhances the full back file of Issues & Controversies On File, which has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events. (Facts on File)
Points of View Reference Center (2007-) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search!
Remember to use the operator AND to combine your search terms. For example, a search on African Americans AND housing discrimination in OneSearch retrieves over 21,000 results.
Use the limits in OneSearch to narrow your results. You can limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can limit results by Publication Date. You can limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.
Connecting to the Full Text of an Article
-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the research databases.
-If not, then select the yellow Find It! button or the Full Text Finder(s) link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!
-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.
The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.
Research Databases contain citations and summaries of articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. They also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. The Library pays to provide access to these Research Databases -- they are not free!
For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by other experts in the same discipline before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most Research Databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.
Start with some of the Research Databases listed below to locate articles on your topics. Remember to search databases in different Subject Categories depending on your research topics, like Business, Education, Health & Medicine, Psychology, Sociology, and/or Urban Studies.
Academic Search Complete (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals, business and industry news on management, economics, marketing, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full-text access to the literature of nursing and allied health, including Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Speech and Hearing.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (1968-) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text from over 500 journals as well as dissertations, new books, and reports of public and private agencies provide comprehensive coverage of the field of criminology: crime, offenders, victims, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, correction, crime prevention.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.
ERIC (Public Access Interface) This link opens in a new window
Public Access (.gov) Interface. Indexes and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice. Provides full-text for some ERIC documents.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (1975-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
JSTOR (1838-) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text (1950-) This link opens in a new window
Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database. Mobile version of MEDLINE
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (1961-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes APA PsycINFO Historic (1886-1966)
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Sociological Collection (1965-) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database with coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.