Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

HED 450: Theories in Health Education & Behavior: Articles/Research Databases

OneSearch

OneSearch

   

 

Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search! For example, a basic keyword search on "healthy eating" retrieves over 361,000 items!

Remember to use the operator AND to combine your search terms and to narrow your results. For example, a search on "healthy eating" AND motivation in OneSearch retrieves over 35,000 results.

Use the limits in OneSearch to narrow your results. You can limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can limit results by Publication Date. You can limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Accessing the Full Text of an Article

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the Research Databases.

-If not, then select the Find It! link or the Full Text Finder link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!

-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles, books, dissertations, and other materials you need that are not available from the Michael Schwartz Library or from OhioLINK.

RESEARCH DATABASES

Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.

The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website.

Research Databases contain citations and summaries of articles. They also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. The Library pays to provide access to these databases -- they are not free!

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by other experts in the same discipline before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.

Below are links to some Research Databases where you can find articles related to health.

The list of databases below is NOT exhaustive--it is only a starting point! Search databases in Specific Subject Categories, such as Education, Health & Medicine, and Psychology, depending on your topic. If you are looking for news articles, then use the Newspaper Research Databases.

If the article is not available full text in the database you are searching, remember to click on the Find It! or Full Text Finder link. See the instructions to the left for Accessing the Full Text of an Article.