Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

MUS 411: Music History I

A guide for students studying music history from 700 to the mid-eighteenth century.

AllMusic
Popular musicians biographies and recordings reviews
Classical Net
Basic repertoire and CD buying guide
Open Music Library
An open network of digital resources for the study of music indexed by Alexander Street Press.
Internet Public Library - Music
Music Resources
Sibelius Academy, Finland
Operabase
Monthly performance data on 400 opera houses, reviews and opera history
Voice of the Shuttle: Music & Dance
Digital Resources for Musicology
Links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists
Cleveland Orchestra Program Notes Index
An index of the complete program notes (and subsequently, the performances) of the Cleveland Orchestra.

J.S. Bach Homepage
J.S. Bach: Analysis of Canons & Fugues
Beethoven Bibliography Database
CSU Special Collections: Bain Murray Collection
CSU Darius Milhaud Society Collection
New Music USA Online Library
The New Music USA Online Library is a vast and comprehensive digital database that contains over 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers, and includes over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores).

Red Hot Jazz Archive
History of jazz before 1930
William P. Gottlieb Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz
Library of Congress American Memory Project - Documents the jazz scene 1938-1948
Linked Jazz
A research project to uncover meaningful connections between jazz artists.